We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable spot in Ennis”
Review of Grey Gables B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gables B & B
Ranked #3 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good affordable spot in Ennis”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Mary is a very nice and welcoming hostess and cooks up a very good breakfast each morning. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The location is outstanding - a block from the center of town. Mary is also knowledgeable about Ennis and the nearby sights so gives good advice.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of two rooms on top floor which was fine for us, but you do have to go up a small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    82
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
68
140
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hi stayed here for one night in September 2013....and we were in ennis. It's just one block to the downtown city center area, so it's close by. If you are staying in Ennis, this is affordable---breakfast was standard....and it's comfortable. Well, they did run out of hot water, so I had to shower in the front bathroom, but again---it was suitable and I wasn't left showerless. It's quiet, clean. No internet in the rooms though---only in the main sitting area in the front of the house. There was a local woman that was staying there while she was in town visiting her brother--that's always a good sign. There's parking too--so that's nice. I'm picky--and I love high end stays. So, if I say this place is suitable---trust it! It's clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMVSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mary... You we're one of the best hosts we had on our trip to Ireland. Your kind spirit, friendly staff, and comfortable and cozy rooms we're one of the highlights of our trip. You made Ennis an even better place to visit with your wonderful hospitality and beautiful grounds! My family and I will never forget you. We can't wait to see you again!

XOXO,

Danielle, Mary, & Carly

Room Tip: This is the place to stay in Ennis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I were passing through Ennis and needed a place to stay that wasn't too expensive. All of the hotels were booked, so one of the secretaries led us in the direction of Grey Gables. We knocked on the door and asked for any available rooms, all of our luggage in hang, and Mary welcomed us in right away. Our room was cozy, although pretty out-dated but we didn't mind. It was very warm and inviting. In the morning we were in a hurry to catch the bus so she made us a breakfast of our choice (which was really cute and a good meal) then drove us herself to the bus station. We were planning on walking but she didn't think we would make it in time. We really appreciated how helpful she was and how comfortable our room was. We would go there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpzichord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We absolutely loved Grey Gables B & B. Mary Keane, the owner, was so friendly and accommodating. There was not one thing that she was unable to help us with or other guests that I overheard her explaining where a place was.
Our room was welcoming and had all of the necessities for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. If we ever have the opportunity to come to Ennis Co. Clare Ireland, we would definitely consider staying at Mary Keane's B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on August 8th. We came early so our room wasn't ready yet, but Mary let us put or luggage outside our room door and she was going to put it in our room and lock it up for us. Very nice. She gave us some great suggestions on places to eat. Very nice room. Good shower and a very spacious room. I loved the hardwood floors. The building is gorgeous and there are several places to sit. The lounge with the internet was very cute. Breakfast was great, We had a lot of choices. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed at Grey Gables for one night. I wish we could have stayed longer. The town of Ennis is very cute. We found a great Irish pub nearby to eat at and even got to listen to traditional Irish music. Mary at Grey Gables was a wonderful host. The rooms are comfortable. The Irish breakfast in the morning was very good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anasthasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables B & B

Property: Grey Gables B & B
Address: Grey Gables Station Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Grey Gables B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Hotel Ennis
Grey Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing