We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Grey Gables B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gables B & B
Ranked #3 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Md
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My niece and I enjoyed staying at Mary Keane's Grey Gables. I attended a recent genealogy conference in Ennis, and we stayed with her for six nights. We always looked forward to the large breakfast in her cheery dining room. The museli was outstanding. Our room was large and comfortable, and we slept very well in the beds. One really nice thing Mary provided for her guests were sheets of directions to a number of places where many tourists would like to go. We used them a number of times. Mary also wanted to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves and getting out and seeing things. We would definitely stay there again. The b and b was also a very convenient walk to the places I needed to go for talks and meetings.

Room Tip: I don't have any information on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    80
    25
    19
    12
See reviews for
66
133
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First time in Ireland from the US. We found this hidden treasure quiter by accident. Turning down a wrong road while looking for lodging, and found this place. This B&B is setup in cozy little sections. The room is setup so nicely. I loved the bed (like a princess bed) Great sleep,,, Everything looks like it is brand new, and very cool. Had free Wi-Fi.. that was a plus. The morning breakfast was fabulous too. First time I have ever hear of potatoe waffles, but yummy.. Thing to note is.. bring Cash.. no credit cards here. Worth it:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_Yue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Mary was so friendly that by the end of my stay i felt like part of her family . we arrived late at night and it was very cold getting into bed , but in the wardrobe were extra duvets so we used them it was not a problem , Mary asked how we slept and we said it was cold , she then left the heating on until 2 in the morning for us . The rooms were spotless and there was everything we needed ie. hair dryer , hot drinks maker , good bedding , good hanging space and drawers ..and the service was second to none , the food was excellent and she made sure we had plenty of fresh and hot drinks . There was a hot drinks station in the hall way no matter what time of day or night you could have a nice cup of tea or coffee .This bed and breakfast is right on the edge of the town centre and within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took advice from a restaurant waiter..not smart! As soon as we arrived...Mary did not even welcome us..she just commented on how much luggage we had. Our bed were very old (pulled back the sheets and looked at the mattresses...did I mention sheets? The were mismatched and ancient probably bought at a second hand store. I am glad I took my own pillow! The next morning she told us we had to wait for breakfast because there were not enough tables. The breakfast was not very good..they had very little to choose from. The wifi was only available in the very small sitting area. Mary was still unfriendly...(she probably shelpt on an old, hard icky bed too). It was also not too easy to find....This was the worst place we stayed on our whole trip of 10 days....Sorry Mary.

Room Tip: The best room is in another bed and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After a harrowing first drive from Shannon Airport, we showed up in the morning...weary from the flight,and just hoping to drop our luggage. Mary made us welcome and gave us an idea of the city. When we returned that afternoon we were welcomed warmly. We met some lovely folks on the patio that evening, and spent an hour or so just feeling as if we were among friends...it's the Irish effect!
We had a lovely breakfast in the morning and left for our next destination.
I would stay longer another visit; Mary is a doll, the rooms are homey and clean. The house has lovely little niches to read, write or talk...all very inviting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I took my mum to ireland for the week and stayed here for 1 night. we had lovely clean rooms and a very helpful and friendly service. very close walking distance to the town. they even wrote a list and drew a map for me of all the places to see on my way to galway. very nice people. i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hnC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from Ireland. Three nights were spent at Grey Gables with owner Mary Keane.
Not only was our room spotless and comfortable with a great breakfast, Mary could not have been nicer. We were there looking for information on my husbands relatives. An article had been in the local paper regarding our quest. Mary had messages from prospective relatives before we had even arrived. Despite her busy schedule in running this wonderful B&B, Mary was most helpful in sorting out the information and messages that had been left for us. She could not have been more helpful. Our experience at Grey Gables is one that we will remember for a long time. A great place in a great location. Thanks Mary
Bob and Millie

Room Tip: Only saw our room and it was perfect,sunny,clean and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ennis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Banner Lodge
Banner Lodge
#7 of 9 in Ennis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables B & B

Property: Grey Gables B & B
Address: Grey Gables Station Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grey Gables B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Hotel Ennis
Grey Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing