We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and well placed hotel”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Despite the fact that there was a mix-up when arriving at this hotel between the hotel and the site from which I booked this hotel, I cannot but warmly recommend this hotel. The person at the reception was very helpful and we managed to sort out this problem. A bit of a problem with the plumbing (especially hot water), but apart from this minor inconvenience, I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The tourist office and museum are next door which is an additional asset as far as I am concerned.

Room Tip: Preference for rooms which give on to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eve_couturier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 842 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

The car park was rather busy when we arrived, but we found a place to park OK. Reception were very friendly, an impressive lobby. The room was fine, can't fault it at all. There wasn't any noise outside and the bathroom was clean and modern. Overall, a great place to stay and accordingly I marked it 5 stars.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MrMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel has a private parking lot surrounded by a public lot so you don't have to worry about getting a space. You can leave your car there because there's a courtyard out front and wends its way into the heart of Ennis. It's set back far enough though so you don't hear a lot of noise unless you have a room on the parking lot side. We had 3 rooms, one by the parking lot, one next to the courtyard and one on the other side overlooking the building going into downtown. Most places do not have air conditioning and the windows open out so there are no screens. I didn't see many bugs there so that probably explains that. My friend who had the room next to the parking lot said the public bus starts early and is noisy. They also have tour buses coming through as well. There's a restaurant/pub on site (Preacher's Pub) and that's a good sized place. We had dinner there one night and it was decent pub style food (burgers and fish and chips). The location was perfect though because it gave you walking access to so much. You could have a drink or two and not have to worry about driving (on the left hand side of the narrow roads!). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 200 and 300 levels are on the courtyard amd parking lot sides. The 400 and 500 levels are away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CambridgeJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed for one night €94 room only, room was average but nice and clean, window looked directly out onto a car park, didn't feel secure, you would think there would be a net curtain for some privacy but there wasn't one. Bar staff more interested in their mobile phone than serving customers so we left and ate elsewhere, location is good as it's in the heart of the town, not a lot happening in Ennis unless there is a Fleadh or a Festival. Tourist office across the yard with a small museum, no tours available, would have liked to have seen the Caves. Been there done that, won' t be back to Ennis. Lucky it wasn't raining it's a fair walk to the bus station

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shrektherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Shrektherapy,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the hotel. We welcome all constructive criticism as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface. Thankfully the vast majority of feedback from our guests is very positive and in general Trip Advisor comments are testament to this. Inattentive staff is not acceptable and I do apologise for that on a positive our location is very central and I am glad you enjoyed that. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write the review. It is most helpful to us to rectify issues when we have fallen short. I do hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel & Ennis as a destination.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here while on holidays, and this hotel is very central in the town. We were able to walk easily around Ennis, and it is a great location for visiting places around clare. The staff were very helpful, and the room was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Temple Gate Hotel. We are delighted with your positive comments on both the staff & your bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel which will hopefully be sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here with a group tour, so we didn't choose it ourselves and I'm not sure we would have if we were traveling on our own. The location was fantastic, right in the center of Ennis so going out and exploring was easy. The lobby is pretty and interesting looking but that's the only thing that's interesting. The rooms are very plain and on the small side. There is no air which I know is the norm in Ireland but we did stay on a rare warmer night and I was hot in the night. The beds in our rooms were hard and the pillows were uncomfortable. I will say the rooms were very clean which was the best thing to say about them. The breakfast in the morning was okay - not a lot of selection. I was happy to move on to the next hotel on the list.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Jennifer R,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the hotel. We are delighted you found our central location excellent and our front of house. We are continually upgrading our bedrooms I have passed your observations to our Accommodation Manager your feedback to us is most helpful and assists us in improving our product.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Recently stayed in the Temple Gate and found the staff very friendly and helpful as is the service. We dined in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The room was very comfortable and also had wifi. The hotel is located in the middle of Ennis and within walking distance of everything. There is a hotel car park also. I would recommended the Temple Gate to anyone wishing to stay in Ennis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maralinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine M, Sales & Events Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Maralinka,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay with us.We are delighted with your recommendation and your comments will inform future guests what to expect when they stay at Temple Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Geraldine Minogue
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $91 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing