We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of Western Ireland”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was a rainy day and we were trying to get from the Dingle Peninsula to the Cliffs of Mohr. However, we decided to stay in Ennis and just wait on the weather. The people at the Temple Gate were fabulous, as was our room. The hotel was originally a convent and the decor, Gothic arches, stained glass windows and beautiful wood added to the ambiance. It was a perfect location and respite from the rain as well as B&Bs (where we wouldn't have felt as comfortable just lounging around the day watching TV). Claire, at the front desk, went out of her way to make our stay special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 861 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in The Temple Gate for 3 nights over the Aug bank holiday wkend with my husband. The location is amazing just off the Main Street.
Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotless with a nice view over looking the court yard. Ate in bar on 2 nights which was tasty.
Ennis is a lovely place to go out in with lots of nice bars and restaurants. It is a great base for sightseeing around Clare. Would recommend The Temple Gate Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeathMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very good welcome after a long day flying & a full days work.Good room & really nice staff,the menu was not over long & choice was just right .Breakfast really set me up for the days tasks..Did not need to eat again all day.

Room Tip: As far as I could see any above first floor are OK..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBlaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We called in here on the off-chance of a twin room - the Ennis Tourist Office is closed on Mondays.... The receptionist was wonderfully helpful, a real professional and she loves her job too!! Our twin room was very clean, functional and literally 2 seconds walk from the one-way streets of Ennis. The hotel is a former convent and there are still indications of its' previous life - very evocative. Due to a sickness bug that we'd caught somewhere during our trip, neither of us could fully partake of the breakfast spread which looked appetising, and the hot selection was freshly cooked to order. Would definitely visit again - and hopefully stay well enough to enjoy a breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireMackem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Temple Gate is right in the downtown of Ennis on a square. The rooms are pleasant and well decorated, the staff nice and the location great. The best find is that the pub attached to the hotel, Preacher’s Pub, has excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecogirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and i stayed in the Temple Gate Hotel for two nights last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Very pleasant and friendly staff, beautiful clean and comfortable rooms and great food. We will be back
Terry.... Co Meath

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we just returned from a road trip in Ireland and stayed at the temple gate for two nights as it was close to the attractions and airport. Upon check in my group of 5( 4 rooms) were all upgraded to the Executive floor. I had emailed quite a bit with this hotel before choosing it and I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. breakfast was great and the stay could not have been better. The Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course pubs. Outstanding value. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie5698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $92 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing