We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the heart of Ennis”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed Sat & Sun night last 23.24/3/13 and were delighted with the Room we got. 2nd floor and faced the car park to the front. We heard no noise at night and got a great nights sleep. The bed was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in in a Hotel. Even the pillows were comfy. The room was clean and the bathroom had a wonderful shower/bath with free toiletries. We ate in the hotel on both nights in Preachers Bar. The food was delicious and the desserts mouth watering! Everything was reasonably priced and my BF said they had a great pint of Guinness. The staff were attentive and friendly and advised us on the night life Ennis has to offer which was most welcome as we had not stayed in Ennis before. The late check out was a bonus on Monday morning. Thanks to the staff and well done on making our stay a lovely experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room and we got one. A room facing the car park at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MolCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Molcork,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. Preachers Pub was awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your comments are further endorsement to this award. We look forward to welcoming you and of course your BF on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Temple Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 833 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed a saturday night for dinner bed and breakfast the room was lovely and the bathroom spotless with a great shower dinner was good and so was the service same can be said for breakfast all of the staff where pleasant and we had a great relaxing stay overall we where well pleased and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Had an executive room on the 3rd floor and it was perfect
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee196492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Dee196492,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Temple Gate Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it’s a wonderful endorsement to read that you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel which will hopefully be sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the TempleGate for 2 nights in March for the Ennis Book club. The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable and you wouldnt have thought you were in the middle of a busy town. The only downside was the breakfast on the second morning (Sunday) were buffet lacked fresh fruit or natural yoghurt as advertised on the menu, hot breakfast was very nice though!
the staff were very friendly and accomodating and I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: our room overlooked the car park and was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear donega108.
Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay with us. It was regrettable that some of the buffet was already gone when you came down but we had quite a few breakfast diners during that weekend. Thank you for you kind comments on both the staff and accommodation and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A good basic hotel… Good location in the centre of town… Nice breakfast – One negative was a bit of noise from the busker down in the street (it was late morning and I should have been up anyway!!)… Near all shops and shopping centres...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Pogue99,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Temple Gate Hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis with its location just in the heart of the town. I hope you have further opportunity to stay with us in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent another lovely weekend in the Temple Gate Hotel for the Ennis Book Club Festival weekend, our 6th time! Lovely breakfasts, comfortable rooms and a delicious evening meal. Staff are so friendly and accommodating. Great value for money. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Margaret R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay. Your repeat custom is a great endorsement of our offerings at Temple Gate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for the 2014 Ennis Book Club Festival!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have just come back from staying in this hotel for the 2013 Book Festival weekend and must say I was impressed.I had eaten in the bar on a number of occasions in the past and found the food to be great but had never stayed in the hotel itself.It was very good.Room was grand,clean,warm and practical.Food in both the bar and main dining was again wonderful.We had asked for a quiet room which was provided.
On the first of two nights,there was a small tiny problem which we mentioned to the staff and without any further ado, we were not only moved to another room but upgraded.
So whilst all the staff including those in the bar,dining and behind the scenes deserve praise for their work, there is a special thanks to Catherine on reception and Ann(e) ,head of housekeeping.
The hotel is right in the middle of Ennis with everything within walking distance which makes life very handy.
A good place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Larry R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It has been a pleasure to host many of the key events during the Ennis Book Club Festival throughout the past number of years. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you also for your kind comments on both the food and service. I have shared your compliments with both Catherine and Ann.
I hope you will be with us for many more Book Club Festivals .
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is well located both in the town of Ennis and near the area's attractions. It's a short trip to the Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle using Ennis as your home base. The hotel has a large parking lot on one side and a charming walkway leads you to Ennis's main street on the other side. The hotel's lobby and pub promised great guest rooms but they are small and ordinary. However, they are clean and comfortable and worked all right since we weren't in our rooms for much more than sleeping. This hotel is a renovated convent and the event room beautifully shows off the features of the former chapel.There's also a lovely library off the lobby. We only ate breakfast here which was served in the main restaurant.The staff was friendly and helpful. It was very good but not outstanding. An added bonus for me was to find out this used to be a Sisters of Mercy convent founded by Catherine McAuley. As a proud alum of Mother McAuley High School, I was amazed to find that, out of all the hotels in Ireland, I booked us into this one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Ikab,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us. Preachers Pub won the award as “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your comments further endorse this award. Your kind feedback has been shared will all the staff here at the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,597 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $95 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing