We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as always”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay as always”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent another lovely weekend in the Temple Gate Hotel for the Ennis Book Club Festival weekend, our 6th time! Lovely breakfasts, comfortable rooms and a delicious evening meal. Staff are so friendly and accommodating. Great value for money. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Margaret R,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay. Your repeat custom is a great endorsement of our offerings at Temple Gate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for the 2014 Ennis Book Club Festival!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    251
    87
    54
    24
See reviews for
175
308
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have just come back from staying in this hotel for the 2013 Book Festival weekend and must say I was impressed.I had eaten in the bar on a number of occasions in the past and found the food to be great but had never stayed in the hotel itself.It was very good.Room was grand,clean,warm and practical.Food in both the bar and main dining was again wonderful.We had asked for a quiet room which was provided.
On the first of two nights,there was a small tiny problem which we mentioned to the staff and without any further ado, we were not only moved to another room but upgraded.
So whilst all the staff including those in the bar,dining and behind the scenes deserve praise for their work, there is a special thanks to Catherine on reception and Ann(e) ,head of housekeeping.
The hotel is right in the middle of Ennis with everything within walking distance which makes life very handy.
A good place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Larry R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It has been a pleasure to host many of the key events during the Ennis Book Club Festival throughout the past number of years. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you also for your kind comments on both the food and service. I have shared your compliments with both Catherine and Ann.
I hope you will be with us for many more Book Club Festivals .
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is well located both in the town of Ennis and near the area's attractions. It's a short trip to the Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle using Ennis as your home base. The hotel has a large parking lot on one side and a charming walkway leads you to Ennis's main street on the other side. The hotel's lobby and pub promised great guest rooms but they are small and ordinary. However, they are clean and comfortable and worked all right since we weren't in our rooms for much more than sleeping. This hotel is a renovated convent and the event room beautifully shows off the features of the former chapel.There's also a lovely library off the lobby. We only ate breakfast here which was served in the main restaurant.The staff was friendly and helpful. It was very good but not outstanding. An added bonus for me was to find out this used to be a Sisters of Mercy convent founded by Catherine McAuley. As a proud alum of Mother McAuley High School, I was amazed to find that, out of all the hotels in Ireland, I booked us into this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ikab,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us. Preachers Pub won the award as “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your comments further endorse this award. Your kind feedback has been shared will all the staff here at the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The accomodations are very much in line with the price of this hotel. The staff was very nice. We did not eat here, so I cannot comment on the food. There is a ball room when you walk in that was being used for a party the night we were there. At first I was worried the noise would drift up into our room (it was a BIG party); however, we had no issue with noise. The size of our room was "average" I would say (from an American's prospective). We definitely were not cramped and there was enough room for our suitecases to both be out and open the entire stay. My one wish is that the rooms would have appeared a bit cleaner. The bathroom of our room had some stains in the bathtub and the sheets while they were clean appeared pretty worn and a bit dingy.

For the price per person per night it was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kristan G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel. I am delighted to read that overall feedback is positive. I have passed your comments to our Accommodation Manager who will take action following your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. The reception staff were very helpful. My room was a little chilly when I arrived in the early evening but I rang reception and this was quickly rectified. The room was very clean and comfortable, just perfect after a very long day, travelling to Ireland early morning and then working. It was also nice and quiet despite looking onto the square.
The shops were nearby especially a Dunnes store which stayed open till late, very handy should you need anything.
I ate in the bar both evenings, the food was really nice especially the chowder with Irish Soda Bread and the Baileys Cheesecake Mmm!
Breakfast was in the main restaurant, there was a variety of cereal, fruit and juices. Also a choice for cooked breakfast.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ikab,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us. Preachers Pub has been deemed “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your comments further endorse this award. Your kind feedback has been shared will all the staff here at the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed here for one night a few weeks ago, hotel is just ok, very average. room was very small with a small double bed. Breakfast was ordered from menu so we expected it to be freshly prepared, it wasnt, it was all dried up and not edible. The bar is very nice and staff seem nice also. The one good thing is the location, centre of ennis town. I wont stay here again, not luxurious but ok for bed to sleep in for night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Elisash,
I am sorry to read that your recent stay did not fully live up to your expectations but thank you for your kind comments on both the bar and our staff.I am disappointed that were not happy with breakfast for which we normally receive good feedback. I hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards

Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had to travel last Sunday in order to be in Ennis for an early Monday meeting so I was already grumpy when I arrived. The receptionist politely ignored this grumpiness, went out of her way to get me checked in quickly and efficiently and was always pleasant and professional.

The room was warm and pleasant, the meeting areas around reception are quiet and perfect for relaxing. The Hotel itself is located right in the heart of Ennis - one of a small number of towns in Ireland where a visit is absolutely mandatory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Bengil.
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us and delighted to read that our Receptionist may have help to lift your mood! Your comments on both the hotel and Ennis town are welcomed and I hope will encourage others to visit in the future. We hope you will also have the opportunity to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing