We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for one mid-week night when the hotel was understandably quiet. The bar had a good variety of dishes and the 8oz steak was very enjoyable. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly from the reception, bar and breakfast room the following morning. The ecclesiastical decor in the bar is a bit over the top but overall my experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileywick35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Balleywick53,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Preachers Pub has been awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and your feedback is a further endorsement of this award. The hotel rests on the site of a 19th century convent so the ecclesiastical decor, which is protected, is visable in a small number of areas throughout the hotel.Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    223
    78
    49
    20
See reviews for
153
265
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I usually stay and eat in a neighbouring hotel when I'm in Ennis. Was taken to the restaurant in the Temple Gate as a change of scene - however, a change of scene not for the better. The starter was unmemorable, but OK, and I ordered steak for the main course. I like steak, but often don't go for it on menus - I wish I had maintained my abstinence. I asked for it medium rare - it came to as dry as bone with not a trickle of succulence left in it. A very odd 'pepper' sauce swathed ever inch of my plate and turned an ordinary dish into a dreadful experience. On the positive side the staff were efficient and friendly but the empty dining room told a story.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Rocky1690,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the hotel. We welcome all constructive criticism as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface. Thankfully the vast majority of feedback from our guests is very positive and in general Trip Advisor comments are testament to this. However it is with regret that I read your rather negative comments. We take all feedback seriously and regret that we did not meet with your expectations. As a recipient of the AA Rosette Award since 1996, it is clear that we were not performing to the usual standard and for that I sincerely apologise. I have revised your feedback in detail with the Chef and his team. In relation to the “good” I will pass on your comments to the staff. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write the review. It is most helpful to us to rectify when we have fallen short. I do hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to Ennis good deal as it was years since we were there. Got a good deal on a website for Temple Gate Hotel so off went went. Have to say first impression was good and the friendly staff at reception cemented our decision to stay. Must say Ennis has expanded over the years yet still holds that old world charm. Ennis people very friendly and the other guests in the hotel also seemed in happy mood.Yes we would and will return during the better weather.
Room was cosy and great bath with piping hot water. Only fault was the noise from the club next door after closing hours with rattle of bottles and barrels...Overall its a busy hotel and food in bar was above average, had to go for bar food as restaurant was booked out which is a good complaint...make sure to book in advance and look out for special offers from Hotel.
Highly recommend!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a fron room as the back tends to be noisey with the disco/pub next door and the staf moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Crunchiedublin,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed both your stay with us and your visit to Ennis town. It is regrettable that you experienced some noise disturbance and while there is no Club in the proximity of the hotel our downtown location can mean extra street activity on weekends as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit we would be happy to assign one of our quieter rooms on request.
We continuously run promotions in Legends Restaurant so it is always advisable to reserve a table. However the hotel bar, Preachers Pub, has been awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” and happily you enjoyed your dining experience there. Please follow us on facebook for updates on future promotions!
It is a wonderful endorsement to read that you will return and we look forward to welcoming on your next visit.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is right bang in the middle of Ennis. It is next to the Clare Museum and the main street just at the foot of Daniel O' Connell's statue. Secure parking and very welcoming lobby. Check in was quick and we were in our room in 5 minutes. Room was immaculate and cosy. We ate twice in the hotel. Once during the day for bar food which was nice and light, and also at night for their Dinner Special. This was fabulous value. Four courses for €20.13. I know that this was a special offer, but the was no sparing in the effort made.
The hotel has some lovely touches that impressed. The library was a relaxing room for a read or a coffee. The long room is an old chapel that has been converted in to a conference/wedding venue with magnificient stained glass windows. It is on the site of a Poor Claire's nunnery and retains some of the original features.
We had lovely two day stay and would recommend it highly to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Billypix,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor and thank you for your wonderful review. Our €20.13 four course dinner special has been very popular. Initially it was to run during January only and due to great interest we are running it throughout February excluding the 14th, 15th and 16th February when we are offering a €25 menu. On Valentines Nights we are also offering with a complimentary overnight stay on the night to restaurant diners availing of our €25 menu.
We look forward to welcoming back to Temple Gate in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

stay for our honeymoon on the 17/1/13 until 20/1/13, fabulous hotel wonderful staff and the food OMG, was exceptional, so much so we ate there all the time. the rooms are brilliantly equipped hair dryer ironing board etc. (maybe a bit to warm) .. really and truly couldn't fault the place. the hotel itself is very central in the town and it has its own parking.. would highly recommend this hotel to all..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear JayneB,
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you chose Temple Gate Hotel as your honeymoon destination. Wishing you both health and happiness during your married life and hopefully you will have further opportunities to stay with us again. It is perhaps an ideal location to celebrate a wedding anniversary! We look forward to welcoming once again to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

went to meet friends and had dinner from the 2013 special menu. could not fault it,it was exceptional value and top quaility. the service was outstanding and i will definitly be back and would recommend to everyone in ennis to give it a go you will not be dissappointed.......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Patw,
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. Hopefully your comments will encourage others to visit Legends and enjoy the exceptional value in the restaurant here at Temple Gate. Thank you for “spreading the word” and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for a Hen weekend last weekend and couldn't fault the place. There was a number of girls there for 2 nights, a few of us could only make it for one night and they only charged us per person instead of per room which was great!

Very reasonably priced, we got b&b and a 3 course dinner which was delicious. The wait staff were lovely, especially Jim from Malaysia...he was so friendly and helpful!!!

The brekkie was delicious. Very central location so within walking distance for everything!!

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Aoifeey,
We were delighted to host your hen party recently. The hotel is ideally located just off the centre of Ennis town where avail of our free car parking and take the elevator to your bedroom! I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff and in particular to Jim who is a very popular member of our team.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing