We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch with the family”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I recently had the chance to experience the carvery in the pub at the Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis.
We were just walking in town so it was purely a case we end eating in this place but we were
delighted in the end. The chef was at the carvery station describing all the choices, staff was very friendly and patients with the kids and the pub was clean and the food excellent. The chowder was one of the best eaten so far in the west of Ireland. Great experience, & good food. We shall return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments following your dining experience in Preachers Pub. The pub was awarded “Best Place to Eat in Clare” last year and your comments are a great endorsement of this award.We believe satisfied guests are guests who return and we are delighted of your wish to visit us again. Your feedback is graciously received by our Chef and his team. We look forward to your return visits in the future.
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Excellent stay over three nights. Staff were really attentive and helpful, food was good, music wasn't our cup of tea but was ok, anyway plenty of music in the town if you want to venture out.
The reception staff had our arrival dates wrong and realising their error upgraded us to an executive room. We were well pleased !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WexfordIrishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the staff at Temple Gate Hotel which they graciously receive. The hotel is located just two minutes stroll from the centre of Ennis town. The town offers many attractions and activities including live music sessions in many of the local hostelries for our hotel guests to enjoy during their stay. We look forward to greeting you on many more return visits to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently had the chance to expierence the highly aclaimed "Legends" restaurant in the Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis. It has received many awards over the last ten years for its wonderful cuisine. Days prior to my visit, I was discovered to be positive for coelice disease,
I was a bit lost as to the full extent to the foods that were now off limits to me. I adviced the waiting staff of my predictment and was immediately put at ease, the staff informed me of what choices were open to me and even made suggestions that were not on the menu. Excellent experience, good food (despite my restrictions), will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HappyTimes443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community so that others can be assured of the level of service to expect when they visit the hotel. The hotel has received many awards for food and service and customer feedback is further endorsement to these awards. Our award winning Chef and his team are delighted to accommodate specific food requirements such as yours and do not believe it should impinge on dining experiences during a guests stay.
We look forward to your return visit and hopefully it will be the first of many!
Kind regards

Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here because i was attending a wedding in the area and it came recommended. to be honest I was not all that impressed the staff checking us in was Great very nice and helpful, the room was standard. The food in the bar was okay. Breakfast was horrible I had porridge there was NOTHING in the bowl. they said you could help your self to the fruit salad and the cereal but there wasn't much of anything for 10 euro thats not enough food to get you to lunch

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockabillyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you taking the time to send your feedback following your recent stay with us. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it allows us to build on our strengths and look into any issues that may surface. Your kind comments on our Reception staff are appreciated and it is good that you received a warm welcome on your arrival at the hotel. As an award winning premises it is most regrettable that food did not meet with your expectations. I do believe however breakfast which includes both a choice of hot breakfast and options from the cold buffet is good value for €10.50. I hope you will grant us the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Only stayed one night here, but location is excellent in the heart of Ennis yet with convenient hotel parking. Ate dinner and breakfast at hotel. Dinner was tasty and they were very accommodating to the children - offer half size portions from adult menu at kid meal prices in addition to the regular kids menu. Breakfast was standard fare - cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread included and hot breakfast available at extra charge. Family room for two adults/two children was sizable and had one double with two twins. It is a charming older hotel. Does not have the bling of newer hotels but if you like older buildings with character, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltownflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback following you and your family’s recent stay with us at the hotel. I have shared your positive comments on food with our award winning Chef and his team. The hotel rests on the site of a 19th century convent with a fascinating history. The gothic style has been preserved throughout the hotel which adds great uniqueness and character to Temple Gate Hotel. The hotel is family owned and managed which additionally is quite a unique selling point in the current hotel industry.
We look forward to welcoming on many return visits to the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Excellent location, friendly staff. Organised my sisters hen & got loads of help & support. Definitely recommend this hotel for value for money, service & location. Breakfast & dinner fab. Could not fault anything.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for your comments following your stay. We enjoyed hosting your party. The hotel is located just off the centre of Ennis town and is an ideal destination for leisure weekends away. If the wedding venue has yet to be decided, the Great Hall with its stained glass windows and vaulted ceilings is a unique banqueting hall and a must visit! We look forward to welcoming you for future stays at Temple Gate Hotel.

Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I first stayed in Ennis in 1993. Since then, I have visited this great town more than a dozen times. I have stayed at all three hotels in town(the Queens, The Old Ground, and tthe Templegate) and they are all nice and have their positive attributes. I have, however, for the past seven years stayed exclusively at the Templegate. They have a warm and helpful staff, a great restaurant and pub, and clean and comfortable rooms. Additionally, there is ample parking and they are the best hotel for physical accessability. They always make you feel wecomed and appreciated. I am very much looking forward to staying there again next month. I can recommend this hotel without any reservation, and have done so many times. All of those people who have taken my advice on this have had a great time.- Dave Ring, New York

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Temple Gate Hotel. We are delighted to see that you always enjoy your time when staying with us. It is great to read your comments about your encounters with the staff which they graciously appreciate. We are delighted that you have recommended the hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you on many return visits in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $92 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing