We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Hotel is easy to find. There is a fairly large carpark and although it can be hard to find parking you will get one after 5 mins! Lovely reception area, big fire to welcome you! Got a great deal (2 nights b&b and 1dinner) had dinner on first night and it was great, great variety and very decently priced wine list. We woke up the next day with a plan to explore all the sites of the west country however unfortunately from very early morning I wasn't well... so unwell that I needed a doctor. I called down to reception and although the girl was extremely friendly when I asked for a doctor to call out I was just given a phone number to ring.. who then gave me another number... who then cut me off and called me back an hour later (now 12pm) and gave me an appointment for 3pm! Needless to say the whole day was wasted (aswel as the breakfast included in the deal on both mornings :() As I said the staff were really nice and I'm not sure if more could have been done but I just would of thought a hotel would have a doctor available to call out or at least a direct line to one! The rest of the evening was spent in bed so unfortunately we didnt get to enjoy the hotel or the sites of clare! But the hotel was really lovely!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    425
    94
    49
    24
See reviews for
289
616
59
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

Stayed at the Old Ground Hotel on the 20/11/10. Booked this hotel for my husband`s birthday. Very happy with outcome of stay. Room clean plus comfortable, staff friendly and food gorgeous if you decide to have a meal. Prior to stay I e-mailed to enquire would there be anything complimentary as it was my husband`s birthday. So, on arrival there was a birthday wish note on a plate of fruit plus two bottles of sparkling water. Than that evening during our meal the lights were dimmed and a waiter called Pascal came to the table singing happy birthday with a nice piece of choclate cake. I thought this was a nice gesture. Apart from that the hotel is a ideal location beside the town centre which has a multitude of independent and chain shops plus pubs. The next day we went to see the Cliffs of Moher which is always beautiful in the sunshine even if it was cold. Will definitely do this again.:)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stopped off for lunch with my friends on the way to Limerick. Pub and Restaurant looks like it needs a good clean. Cutlery and teapots stained and dirty. All I can say is Kim & Aggie would be pretty busy hear.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We decided to mix business and pleasure and enjoy watching the Aussies beat the Irish in Limerick last week - met a local in London who advised us that Ennis was a great little town - after the game we had some interesting banter before getting a quick bus trip back to Ennis - I am already looking forward to going back to see some more of this charming town. The Old Ground provided a superb meal - see separate review for O'Brien Room - easily our best meal in the last month - followed by a very friendly atmosphere in their local pub

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieinlondon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We recently held our wedding reception at the Old Ground Hotel. We were just thrilled with the service and staff. Our meal was second to none. We really couldn't have asked for more and we know that our guests felt the same. We would highly highly recommend the hotel and exceptional staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWilliams45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Old Ground for our 25th anniversary trip to Ireland. Ennis is a great base for exploring western Ireland and although we spent minimal time in the hotel, it is a real gem. On arrival around 11 am, we were informed that we just missed breakfast, so the staff brought us scones and tea to enjoy in one of their cozy parlors. As it was off-season, the prices were quite reasonable. We got the best deal (better than Expedia's price) booking directly from Flynn hotels website which offers packages like the 3 nights/full Irish breakfast and one dinner on night of your choice. The room was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Lovely king sized poster bed and tasteful furnishings. Like many European hotels, I think lighting could be better. Free wi-fi great plus.The staff-from the front desk to the restaurant- were exceptionally helpful and friendly. One of the staff went out of his way to show us a very old part of the building, which was originally a prison and the town hall- fascinating!
It does not seem to be the custom to tip in Ireland... the tips I left for housekeeping were never taken and i was told it was not neccessary to tip at breakfast altho the service was so wonderful. Be prepared for Irish Breakfasts---they are HUGE and delicious and I did not have an appetite for lunch. The hotel features a great pub and one of the best restaurants in Ennis- Town Hall restaurant. We sat next to a couple at the restaurant who had just paid 150 euro for dinner at Ashford castle and they felt Town Hall was the best meal they had in Ireland.
Ennis has alot of one-way streets and altho the hotel is in town center, it can be complicated to get to. The hotel website has good directions from Shannon airport but we still got turned around.
We tend to be budget travelers. All in all, The Old Ground Hotel is an comfortable, elegant and quiet hotel with great off-season pricing. Would love to return in the future, maybe for our 50th anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Old Ground Hotel was perfect for our stay in Ennis. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are comfortable, updated, and spacious. The hotel has a great pub, The Poet's Corner -- the waitstaff there was incredibly friendly and fun, and we got to see lots of live, traditional Irish music right there at the hotel. The Old Ground is located very close to many of the other pubs in Ennis, so you never have to go far for a good pour of Guinness! Many friends stayed down the road at the Temple Gate, which was also very nice, but The Old Ground felt a lot more old-school Irish (if there's such a thing). :) PS - If you're debating on staying in Ennis vs another nearby town, I'd highly recommend Ennis for the quaint shops (lots of good shopping!), 2 locations of O'Connors bakery, and the nearly 50 pubs in town!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking_4_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing