We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Irish Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Full of Irish Charm”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed there for a business trip. Lovely old building, decorated with lots of big couches and coal fires, Warm welcome at reception and an individual room with big, comfortable bed and plenty of room. Went to the pub connected to the hotel for dinner. Lovely wood lined, old pub with quality, locally sourced food and traditional music available from 9pm. It is an old building so there are a small number of glitches, shower not as good as perhaps it could be and my room seemed to have power points everywhere but over all a great stay and recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms will all be individual, note you should ask for a non smoking or a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnReid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    426
    94
    49
    24
See reviews for
295
624
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a morning departure from Shannon Airport, and decided to stay at The Old Ground for the previous night; it turned out to be an excellent choice. Our ground-floor room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, and well-equipped; we appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities and excellent bathroom. Dinner in The Town Hall Bistro was particularly enjoyable; the fixed-price menu was really good value, and the food was excellent, especially the seafood dishes.

Helpful signposting makes it straightforward for motorists to find the hotel on arrival in Shannon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strathallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had a Fantastic stay at this hotel recently. A very grand hotel inside and out. Our room was big and Very Clean,Shower was nice and powerful too. Food was excellent. We did not know at the time that this hotel had 2 places to eat. A bar with bar food and a nice quiet restaurant. We book the restaurant and they do a 3 course meal for 25 euro. The bar area was full so if you wish to eat here which do less fancy food like fish and chips , burgers etc you may need to book. Only problem was parking loads of it but by the time we got there at 6pm only 1 space left next to bins.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Large room, parking right outside in lot. Room decor dated but not chic & dated. I was expecting a bit more "look" to the rooms similar to the ambience of the lobby & restaurant/pub attached. Front des staff welcoming & cheerful. Awesome shower in room however, great water pressure. Would highly recommend The Poets Corner for dinner (attached to hotel). That made the visit memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in Ennis over the weekend in the Old Ground Hotel. Very well located hotel as it is within walking distances of everything good in Ennis. Staff very freindly with great food. Not cheap to stay in on a weekend break but always well looked after

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianSilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

From the moment you arrive at the hotel you get the warm irish welcome. Enter the bar or
restaurant and it continues all the way. Rooms are very comfortable old world comfort. Do dine here in the restaurant or bar or town hall restaurant and you wont be disapointed We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was wonderful and the lady in charge of the restaurant was amazing, a full restaurant everyone looking to get a table and she was so good at her job.
Loved this hotel

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor but such a good room it did not matter that we had no view. You a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline9B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This old world hotel is staffed with wonderful people. Extremely helpful and friendly. Yes, parking can be a little tight, but not impossible.
The food in their restaurants is absolutely terrific served quickly, hot and very well prepared.
Plenty to eat at the included breakfasts with good choices.
Leave you car and walk around this special town of Ennis
The only negative is the chimes from the church across the street. They rang at odd hours, didn't tell the time and the tone is awful.
However, don't let that stop you from staying there.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
771 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing