We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I spent 2 nights after christmas in The Old ground hotel with a friend and from our arrival to departure the experience was excellent.All the staff were very friendly and super efficient .
There was a wedding at the hotel on one of the days and we were not disturbed in any way with late night noise .The food was excellent for both Breakfast and dinner with great choice for both , well done to all staff will return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    444
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
303
657
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night break with my guy, at the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis and can't say enough about this super hotel!! From the moment we arrived early afternoon on New Years Day, we were spoilt by the amazing staff. We were ravenous after our drive from Dublin on a miserable wet day, but despite the dining room been packed to the rafters for lunch, the handsome restaurant found us a very cosy table for 2 in an overflow dining room. We both enjoyed an amazing 4 course lunch at an even more amazing price....fresh produce served by friendly staff.....what better start could you get to a new year break!!! Our room was spacious, warm, clean n very comfortable with just the perfect amount of everything from bedclothes to clothes hangers to coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast was top class with a huge variety from pancakes ( had twice....delicious!!!)to pan fried fish...sampled by himself, n also top class. There was also other hot choices apart from the more usual full Irish.....and the very friendly waitresses were more than happy to cater for every request. There was a great choice of breads, croissants and danish pastries plus fresh fruit and yogurts. The coffee was lovely!! We dined in the Town Hall restaurant n again the food was excellent.....try the scallops starter and the monkfish...you wont be disappointed!! The friendly professional service again was top class. I can't say enough about our stay in this hotel....we could not find, even the smallest fault with it. We definitely will be back and will recommend it highly to friends and family. Thank you to all the great staff in the Old Ground Hotel for making our stay so memorable....A and D xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inspector20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful old hotel with great character and up-to-date furnishings. Lovely grounds, beautiful and large superior rooms, helpful staff. The pub food was good, breakfasts excellent. One of my favorite hotels of our Irish trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

While on the east side of Ireland, my husband and I decided to visit the Cliffs of Moher and spend the night in the area before returning east. Checked my guidebooks and the internet and settled on a "last minute deal" at this hotel. Our affordable package at this charming hotel included tea, bottle of wine, dinner, breakfast and a deluxe suite. Excellent, well trained staff. Had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njanehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in The Old Ground Hotel in Ennis in November and I must say it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. From the very friendly woman in reception to the bar and restaurant staff you could not ask for better. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a large ensuite beautifully set out [a extra bit of light is required for shaving}
We dined in The Town Hall Bistro, which is part of the hotel where we met the lovely Manageress Mary who could not be nicer and more helpful, and the food was excellent.
Our stay was cut short because of bereavement in the family and we would have loved to stay longer as it was so warm and inviting. Hope to get back there again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stationroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over Christmas. Lovely hotel, great atmosphere and the food, especially in the Town Hall, was excellent. Staff very efficient and friendly (especially waiting staff) BUT almost every time I approached the front desk the staff answered the phone. I know this may sound picky but it literally happened every time! I understand if the staff member is already on a call, but I found it irritating that the phone was answered just as I was about to ask something. Other than this I can't praise the place enough. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Couldn't get wifi on 5th floor but may have been due to bad weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is outdated and dreary but wait. After check in you will be taken to a very modernized room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic. Did not need to eat all day after that one. We also ate at the associated pub on site. Very relaxed, traditional and great food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lstravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
797 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing