We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but...PLEASE prioritise customers at front desk!”
Review of Old Ground Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Ground Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over Christmas. Lovely hotel, great atmosphere and the food, especially in the Town Hall, was excellent. Staff very efficient and friendly (especially waiting staff) BUT almost every time I approached the front desk the staff answered the phone. I know this may sound picky but it literally happened every time! I understand if the staff member is already on a call, but I found it irritating that the phone was answered just as I was about to ask something. Other than this I can't praise the place enough. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Couldn't get wifi on 5th floor but may have been due to bad weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is outdated and dreary but wait. After check in you will be taken to a very modernized room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic. Did not need to eat all day after that one. We also ate at the associated pub on site. Very relaxed, traditional and great food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lstravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent meal. Good value for €35. My monkfish was superb and others commented steaks were mouthwatering. All cooked to perfection. The starters and desserts complimented the main course.
Staff were efficient and created a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank meareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Old Ground Hotel is the iconic Ennis hotel: large and stately but with a real cozy feeling and top notch people onsite working the front desk and restaurant / pub. The Poets Corner is a super pub full of locals (which tells you something good!) and the Town Hall Bistro is among the best restaurants on the west coast. Really a great dinner and excellent service. Best of all, they upgraded me to a small suite with a huge bathroom and sitting area. Although it was overlooking the street, there was no noise because the windows were insulated well and it was such a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I`ve spent more than 150 nights at the Old Ground in Ennis on business trips the last couple of years . Most of the says have been long stays around 3-4 weeks at the time. And I always look forward to get back. If you`re looking for a fancy 5 star accommodation with marble and luxury all over, I would suggest to find something else. But if you`re looking for a very nice and cozy hotel with roots back to the 18th century and in the middle of a proper Irish town, you`ve found the perfect spot. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is never a problem. The hotel itself is old fashion but fully functional in all ways. Remember to spend some time in the hotels own pub, The Poets Corner. Where the Irish coffee were invented back in the days. The Guinness pints are awesome in this place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part are very nice, but you`ll get a little bit of noise from the pub below unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thom-Arne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Old Ground with my mother before starting a two week tour last August 2013. In fairness to the Hotel we had just come from the Four Seasons in London, so things felt a little 'colonial'.

However, the staff did everything they could by making our stay more comfortable by moving us to a larger room so our beds were not on top of each other, very helpful.

I think reviews would be even better if they could just take the food standard up another level overall, but their wait staff were hard working and busy as the Hotel was full while we were there.

Having said that our tour meal, serving approx., 40 was great and we were well tended by the staff as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozzie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed in the Old Ground hotel on Sunday night - arriving late and leaving early Monday morning. I would have loved to have stayed - it so warm, cosy and inviting and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it. Well done - I hope to be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathleencp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
511 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ground Hotel

Address: O'Connell Street | Clonroad Beg, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $104 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Ground Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing