We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
LA, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was the best hotel on our entier Ireland vacation. Too bad we only stayed there two nights, and that it was the first stay!

We arrived very late in the evening, around 10 pm. Upon arrival, the front desk apologized that food service had stopped, but that he would have the chef make up some sandwiches and send them straight up to our room. Our room was beautiful, with an incredibly soft bed that I wished I could take with me. It was heaven! The bathroom was also incredible, with a walk in shower that was reminiscent of a car wash due to its many sprinkler heads in addition to the main spout.

The hotel's pub was awesome, full of plenty of locals, and offered an entrance from the town street and the hotel. Food, service and prices were amazing! Breakfast was also great. The lobbies were traditional manor house style, and there was always a merry fire going. One evening, our family set up a board game and played while we got drink service from the pub.

Ennis itself was a great town, still held that Irish traditional charm without being too small. All and all, I highly recommend staying here and in Ennis in general. Only 20 minutes to the Shannon airport, 20 minutes to the castle and folk park Bunratty and about 1 hour to the Cliffs of Mhor.

Room Tip: Request to be in the old manor, which is where we stayed, and was newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    424
    94
    49
    24
See reviews for
289
615
59
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive it was nice to took into a really well cooked steak. The chef knows how to get it just right. Medium was medium for once. Veg and salad were fresh and chrisp. Well worth a visit if you are in Ennis

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryohss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent a weekend at The Old Ground recently -... What did we like about the place...... Everything! - If your planning a trip to Clare - The Old Ground Ennis is the place - Rooms, Food, Staff, Ambience, Location, Value for money, Cannot recommend highly enough.. .... Pure Class.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are worth it if your budget can stretch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjo-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent our last night before flying home at the Old Ground and wished we had had more time, both for the lovely hotel and the town of Ennis. All the staff we encountered were first rate. The public rooms on the ground floor are comfortably elegant and welcoming. Our room was I think a deluxe or whatever a step-up from standard was and it was great. Very very spacious, comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom, nicely decorated. Also parking was very easy. We had dinner in the Poet's Corner and enjoyed it. Our only disappointment was the breakfast which, frankly, was not up to the standard of the hotel. Probably the worst breakfast we had in our almost two weeks in Ireland. But the rest of the experience was so good that I'll chalk the breakfast up to a bad day and would definitely stay at the hotel again and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit of a maze!! Ask to see more than one room if you find the first one a bit confus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the weekend, very nice staff at reception on arrival gave us directions to the room. Room looked Newley decorated all very clean with huge bed. Bathroom very clean and a lovely big shower and bath. Had food in the Town Hall Cafe on the Friday night steak was very nice cooked to perfection. The only down point I would have about the stay would be the full Irish breakfast it was unfortunately not like you would expect for a 4 star hotel more care when cooking and a tad better quality ingredients and would be perfect. Other than that was a fantastic stay and will be back and would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simondub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend in this hotel and from start to finish of our stay we were always greeted warmly by the very friendly staff. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel with its old world charm and great character. We dined in the Town hall restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent meal with great choice on the menu surrounded by a very relaxed and intimate atmosphere. Full marks to Mary in the restaurant who really is a great asset to the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety and our bedroom was very clean and luxurious. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and we will most definitely return.

Cathy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonhole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Walking into the old hotel my husband and I knew that this experience would be memorable. The staff welcomed us with smiles, a lovely comfortable room and an invitation for tea beside the lobby fireplace. Our room was spacious, quiet and deliciously tactile, from the linens and towels to the chairs and window seat. The good bedside lights made for perfect reading and a hot shower topped off a nicely appointed room. Breakfast was beautifully served, hot and delicious in the dining room, with linens and crystal. And then the pub awaited us just down the hall. The Poet's Corner has seating in nooks with library style wood and antiques, lunches are excellent and served quickly and pleasantly, and in the evening it is lively, bustling and music filled....some people even played the Irish spoons for us over a brimming Guinness....it just doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileywyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing