We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely recommend . .”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

To briefly sum up the best points of our stay at the old ground,
> The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in (of all the hotels we previously stayed in)
> The room was clean and cosy
> The food was great.
> The staff were friendly.
> Nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

...and the worst
> The hotel is not much to look at from the outside.
> The water pressure in the shower was poor.

Overall - we will be staying here again when we will be back in Co Clare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great place to stay, big rooms but very modern. Most of all the staff are exceptional. kind, helpful and nothing is too much for them. We also ate in the restautant which is always full of clients. The service, food and staff were efficient, helpful and friendly.
A big plus it is in the centre of the town and on some nights has live Irish Music. You have many places nearby to visit, a great location. Stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just spent nine days at the Old Ground Hotel, amazing place, beautiful, clean, food was great, service and staff outstanding. I highly recommend this place. Ennis is a beautiful town filled with history an culture.
Murph

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murph385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a 3 night stay here recently. Staff were so helpful, the food was fabulous especially in the O'Regan Restaurant. A very good breakfast menu. The hotel has a lot of character & for anyone looking to explore the west of Ireland it is a fantastic location in the centre of Ennis town. Would highly recommend & we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try & avoid rooms overlooking the kitchen vents. They are going from a morning till evening as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great old wonderful place if you like silk fabric wallpaper, oriental rugs, and nice bedding..It was quiet for sleeping and the food was great. There is a beautiful little courtyard for your pleasure as well. If you enjoy a little privacy they had nice little nooks for reading your paper or mail or the books from their library. Just an awesome feel altogether. I will definitely go back to this one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyjack62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms are comfortable, staff very helpful, and the location is great for exploring Ennis. There are plenty of food options, either in the hotel or just a very short walk outside. The breakfast is also good, with the full Irish being well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms I've tried have been OK, but I prefer the rooms above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJJ_IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia and didn't really spend long at this hotel (arrived somewhat late on a Saturday night and left as soon as we checked out in the morning. We just needed a place to stay that was somewhat close to the Cliffs of Moher and many of those B&B's were full. This hotel is old and has character, but also has a very haunted feel to me. Anyway, there was a wedding taking place that seemed to end early and there was also a trad music session happening in the bar that seemed to also wrap up early.

When we tried to go to bed (we were up on the 5th floor, which I think was the highest floor), I couldn't fall asleep until it was extremely late- even though our windows were closed and we were on the 5th floor I could hear really loud thumping music (must have been in one of the nearby bars) until really late. So we woke up really late and when I called to ask for a late checkout, I mentioned the music to the lady at the desk- I think she had assumed that we were up late partying (I might as well have been partying since it felt like it). Anyway, I didn't really get any sympathy from the lady at the front desk.

Room Tip: This hotel is a great place to stay if you want to party and stay out late, etc., but if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whirldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $94 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing