We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
La Union Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms are comfortable, staff very helpful, and the location is great for exploring Ennis. There are plenty of food options, either in the hotel or just a very short walk outside. The breakfast is also good, with the full Irish being well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms I've tried have been OK, but I prefer the rooms above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJJ_IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    436
    95
    49
    25
See reviews for
300
640
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia and didn't really spend long at this hotel (arrived somewhat late on a Saturday night and left as soon as we checked out in the morning. We just needed a place to stay that was somewhat close to the Cliffs of Moher and many of those B&B's were full. This hotel is old and has character, but also has a very haunted feel to me. Anyway, there was a wedding taking place that seemed to end early and there was also a trad music session happening in the bar that seemed to also wrap up early.

When we tried to go to bed (we were up on the 5th floor, which I think was the highest floor), I couldn't fall asleep until it was extremely late- even though our windows were closed and we were on the 5th floor I could hear really loud thumping music (must have been in one of the nearby bars) until really late. So we woke up really late and when I called to ask for a late checkout, I mentioned the music to the lady at the desk- I think she had assumed that we were up late partying (I might as well have been partying since it felt like it). Anyway, I didn't really get any sympathy from the lady at the front desk.

Room Tip: This hotel is a great place to stay if you want to party and stay out late, etc., but if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the Old Ground Hotel for 1 night in August, 2013. Hotel staff very helpful. Room was ready early, which was a big help since we had just flown overnight. Very close to town and room was very clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was delicious, as well as the Pub for dinner. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unsunghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of the town, we had an amazing and huge room with a 4 poster bed and the only criticism was that it was very warm and that opening the window was noisy. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant and breakfast was good too.
The pub in the hotel was very popular and the young lads playing traditional music were brilliant and we had a great evening listening to them and enjoying the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel surpassed any expectations. The room was gorgeous and very large, with a separate sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. It was definitely very charming.

We went to the pub for dinner which had great food and a really nice vibe. A great mix of locals and tourists. The garden in the hotel is very nice, and you can take a drink or tea and just relax. Breakfast the next morning was also very good - in the hotel restaurant.

We found everyone at the hotel to be very friendly and accommodating and the service was great.

If you do book - make sure you check the map ahead of time, as there was many one way streets in Ennis and it is a little confusing, even for the GPS. We got slightly lost, but called the hotel and they were able to direct us very easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our initial room was totally adequate for our one night stay in Ennis. When we returned from dinner at a local pub and got ready to retire, we heard a continual noise emanating from the AC vent, even though we had not turned it on. A call to the front desk brought an immediate response. Sensing that the problem could not be solved quickly, they upgraded us to a "king suite." To say the least, that room was elegant, as was the staff's attentiveness. Overall, the hotel is quaint and charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Short version:
Owner's car was parked significantly obstructing a required wheelchair-accessible space - see photo.
Owner refused to rectify when requested.

Full version:
I booked a trip with my daughter, sister and wheelchair-bound mother.
On arrival, one of the two handicapped parking places was occupied, the second was significantly obstructed by a car parked somewhat diagonally from the adjacent spot - see photo.
We managed to park our wheelchair accessible car, albeit only by encroaching into the other wheelchair spot.
We informed reception and requested they identify the owner of the offending car and get it rectified.They were very supportive and said they would try to do so.
We left the hotel a short while later for a trip (to the wonderful Cliffs of Moher) and returned about three hours later. The offending car was still not moved, and so parking and unloading was again a challenge.
My sister approached reception and re-raised the issue. This is where it gets interesting - a guy comes out from the room behind reception, and asks what the problem is. My sister explains, only to be told a) he was the owner of the hotel; b) it was his car; c) it wasn't causing any obstruction; d) he would move it if/when he was ready.
An hour later the car was not moved.

While I could provide comments and opinions on other aspects of the hotel, unfortunately this incident, and the unparalleled arrogance of the owner, remain the overwhelming memory of our stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank ismisecaoimhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Caomihin

I am sorry to read your reaction to an incident here at our property. I think a slightly less aggressive approach by yourself would have allowed a simple explanation. Our owner parked his car in a regular parking spot - none of our team use the designated wheelchair areas for parking. However - a member of our staff moved his car to facilitate a drop off of some essential items. Unfortunately, he mislaid the key and was busy searching for it, there was a delay in moving the car and as our owner did not know this at the time - he was stunned at your attitude.

We take our responsibilities to people with wheelchairs very seriously and have designated a carefully planned bedroom with special equipment for their use. We also recently installed an elevator to our function room to make access easier even though we are a listed building and this type of construction is complicated and very expensive.

I hope sometime in the future, we get an opportunity to welcome you and erase the memories of this incident.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing