We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Old Ground Hotel”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the Old Ground Hotel for 1 night in August, 2013. Hotel staff very helpful. Room was ready early, which was a big help since we had just flown overnight. Very close to town and room was very clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was delicious, as well as the Pub for dinner. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unsunghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of the town, we had an amazing and huge room with a 4 poster bed and the only criticism was that it was very warm and that opening the window was noisy. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant and breakfast was good too.
The pub in the hotel was very popular and the young lads playing traditional music were brilliant and we had a great evening listening to them and enjoying the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel surpassed any expectations. The room was gorgeous and very large, with a separate sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. It was definitely very charming.

We went to the pub for dinner which had great food and a really nice vibe. A great mix of locals and tourists. The garden in the hotel is very nice, and you can take a drink or tea and just relax. Breakfast the next morning was also very good - in the hotel restaurant.

We found everyone at the hotel to be very friendly and accommodating and the service was great.

If you do book - make sure you check the map ahead of time, as there was many one way streets in Ennis and it is a little confusing, even for the GPS. We got slightly lost, but called the hotel and they were able to direct us very easily.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our initial room was totally adequate for our one night stay in Ennis. When we returned from dinner at a local pub and got ready to retire, we heard a continual noise emanating from the AC vent, even though we had not turned it on. A call to the front desk brought an immediate response. Sensing that the problem could not be solved quickly, they upgraded us to a "king suite." To say the least, that room was elegant, as was the staff's attentiveness. Overall, the hotel is quaint and charming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Short version:
Owner's car was parked significantly obstructing a required wheelchair-accessible space - see photo.
Owner refused to rectify when requested.

Full version:
I booked a trip with my daughter, sister and wheelchair-bound mother.
On arrival, one of the two handicapped parking places was occupied, the second was significantly obstructed by a car parked somewhat diagonally from the adjacent spot - see photo.
We managed to park our wheelchair accessible car, albeit only by encroaching into the other wheelchair spot.
We informed reception and requested they identify the owner of the offending car and get it rectified.They were very supportive and said they would try to do so.
We left the hotel a short while later for a trip (to the wonderful Cliffs of Moher) and returned about three hours later. The offending car was still not moved, and so parking and unloading was again a challenge.
My sister approached reception and re-raised the issue. This is where it gets interesting - a guy comes out from the room behind reception, and asks what the problem is. My sister explains, only to be told a) he was the owner of the hotel; b) it was his car; c) it wasn't causing any obstruction; d) he would move it if/when he was ready.
An hour later the car was not moved.

While I could provide comments and opinions on other aspects of the hotel, unfortunately this incident, and the unparalleled arrogance of the owner, remain the overwhelming memory of our stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
14  Thank ismisecaoimhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Caomihin

I am sorry to read your reaction to an incident here at our property. I think a slightly less aggressive approach by yourself would have allowed a simple explanation. Our owner parked his car in a regular parking spot - none of our team use the designated wheelchair areas for parking. However - a member of our staff moved his car to facilitate a drop off of some essential items. Unfortunately, he mislaid the key and was busy searching for it, there was a delay in moving the car and as our owner did not know this at the time - he was stunned at your attitude.

We take our responsibilities to people with wheelchairs very seriously and have designated a carefully planned bedroom with special equipment for their use. We also recently installed an elevator to our function room to make access easier even though we are a listed building and this type of construction is complicated and very expensive.

I hope sometime in the future, we get an opportunity to welcome you and erase the memories of this incident.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the kind of hotel where you don´t want to go out, even if Ennis is a charming little town. Beautiful room, nice garden, good pub that had a good trad irish music session on our night there. Good reatuarant too, nice lounge area. Excellent breakfast. I totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Old Ground Hotel on our last night in Ireland. We chose the hotel based on its positive reviews and its proximity to the Cliffs of Moher and the Shannon Airport. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted at the front desk and checked into our room in no time. The room was clean and well suited our needs. After getting settled in our room, we grabbed lunch at the Poet's Corner connected to the hotel. It was undoubtedly our best meal during our week long stay. The seafood was fresh, and the portions were large. Because of the friendly, attentive staff and impeccable service, we returned for dinner that evening to enjoy traditional Irish music and conversation with some local patrons.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The front desk staff were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They secured us a taxi to take us to the airport. Our driver, Tony, was the absolute best and did a great job convincing us to plan a return trip to see additional sights of County Clare. Ennis is a lovely town and we would return to Old Ground in a heartbeat. It was a great ending to our vacation!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RTLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
854 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $92 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing