We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely interlude on a hot weekend.”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely interlude on a hot weekend.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay over in Ennis on hot recent weekend.
I liked the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, a period building redolent of another era, and full of local links to the history of the area, nice check-in and good help with directions and information, the rooms have been well and tastefully renovated, albeit down the expected winding corridors, and small stairways. The rooms are larger than usual, cool colours and comfortable beds. The bar was lively and had a really genuine Irish music session in progress, loads of onlookers (pity they wouldn't buy a brink). Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Didn't dine in the hotel, no reason, except to go out and see more of the town. The restaurant looked good and menu read well, quite a traditional dining room. The town had a great vibe,narrow streets, nice local shops, lots of variety, not so many of the ubiquitous high street samenesses. Didn't have the usual full breakfast in the restaurant, I was slow getting up in any case, slipped into the cafe (I think its called The Poets Corner). Simple coffee toast breakfast, pleasant young waitress, with a little extra chat, liked it. Parking is a bit tight though.
Toured down to Loop Head, and the light house, very interesting day, enjoyed it.
Will get back to Ennis and the Old Ground Hotel, and perhaps stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    436
    95
    49
    25
See reviews for
300
637
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
468 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Old Ground is an older hotel located in the center of Ennis, but it is maintained and staffed in the best way. The room was very large, bed was comfortable and all facilities worked as expected. Old world service in the new world. The staff was and service was excellent. We had lost our plug adapters, called the front desk and within two minutes a staff member was at our room with replacements. There is a pub in the hotel, and breakfast was very good. Private free parking in the hotel grounds. This is a busy hotel; it is obviously on the tour bus route so the breakfast room was crowded. Otherwise, a good, comfortable and reliable hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were traveling to Ennis for the Fleadh Nua in May 2013. There are many different venues, so the Old Ground is perfectly located to participate in the events as well as several of the events are hosted right at the hotel.

The reception staff is extremely knowledgeable, and helpful. We arrived on an early morning flight from the east coast of the US to Shannon, we took Bus Eirann (which is a good value and a very short walk to the hotel) when we got to the hotel it was just 10:00 a.m., our room wasn't ready but the receptionist told us to go get breakfast and the room would be ready in an hour. Even though the breakfast service normally closes at 10, they accommodated us with a hot breakfast , did not rush us, and our room was ready when promised.

We stayed in one of the recently renovated deluxe rooms which was quite spacious and overlooked the garden which was beautifully maintained. You can sit outside in the gardens in the gazebo or at small tables it is quite an enjoyable atmosphere.

This is a charming hotel, the lobby has many overstuffed couches, winged back chairs and window seats where you can sit and relax. The staff will serve you coffee and/or tea in the lobby. The staff in the restaurants are top notch and very well trained and the food was exceptional.

Since we didn't have a car, we wanted something that was centrally located, the Old Ground fits that requirement to a "T". We would definitely stay here again as it is very close to many of the sights in Clare, i.e. the Burren and the Cliffs of Mohrer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard if possible, as it is right on the main street, it may g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended on both TripAdvisor, and travel forums. As a result, I booked a room here without hesitation. When my wife and I arrived, there were no parking spots in the parking lot. Apparently the hotel was expecting a "full house" due to a wedding party or something similar. We got a letter basically saying if we wanted breakfast, we needed to get there by 9am because they were going to be crowded, that, in turn, made me feel a little like a "second class" resident, coming second to the event going on. Booked the hotel on expedia, which usually gets you not only a good deal, but usually a pretty good room, but we got a room on the first floor which gave us a lovely view of a renault hatchback for the duration of our stay. The hotel was beautiful, no mistake about that, the bed was comfortable, and the history was rich, for the price, however, I feel we should've gotten more. Perhaps I'd enjoy it more at a less crowded time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchruteFarmsBeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback after your recent visit.

I will review with our team the important points that you have mentioned. I am particularly sorry that you received the breakfast letter in error - we had some golfers who were heading for the lovely links at Doonbeg and wanted to ensure that they enjoyed a hearty breakfast and still made their early tee times so it must have been slipped into your room in error.

Our sincere apologies for the shortcomings that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes, this is an older hotel, but it was clean and well cared for. Do you really go to Ireland to stay in a chain hotel? Gorgeous little garden out back for relaxing with a drink. Right in the midst of downtown so easy walk to shops and pubs. Breakfast was adequate. We waited to go down until well after the tour bus folks left and everything had been restocked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Primarily, because everyone working there whom I encountered, whether Irish or not (most staff do seem to be local), has absorbed the notion that visitors stay in a hotel like the Old Ground for a taste of the national character, to be treated with friendliness, kindness, and respect. I arrived early, well, VERY early, on a international overnight flight, and was greeted at 7:00 AM with a smile and a pot of tea. I asked for a room overlooking the lovely cathedral and garden, and was accommodated by 10:30 AM, which was much appreciated. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated, with a comfortable double bed. The hotel was full throughout my stay with visitors from far and wide for the Fleadh Nua, but the staff never seemed too busy to answer a question or make a phone call to assist a traveller.

Many locals use the hotel as place to get together in town, and these were some of the friendliest people you will meet in Ireland. As a single traveler, I was made to feel welcome in some of the impromptu musical sessions that came together in the beautiful sitting rooms. One of the hotel staff was also captivated by the music (in this case an older gentleman singing sean nos) and took some cell phone video of it. When asked by another tourist why this was special, she replied, "Why, they've just come in off the street!" Sometimes, the spontaneous can be almost magical, and it was great to see hotel staff appreciating that too.

There were some problems. The water pressure in the shower was simply awful, not much above a trickle. The sink did not seem to be well-connected to the pedestal beneath it. And, the breakfast was a major disappointment, was buffet-style only, and featured watery eggs and cold sausages. There was apparently an electrical problem that weekend, so perhaps that was the reason. But I would probably not book at a B and B rate next time. I think because of the volume of business that weekend, it was often difficult to get service in the Poet's Corner bar, and the room was made up rather late in the day (after 3:00 PM). The room was initially far too warm, but a call down to the desk had the heater turned off. Don't let any of this stop you from booking, the Old Ground is the genuine article, an Irish townhouse style hotel of the first rank. Ennis doesn't have a lot of marquee attractions for the traveller (although the Franciscan Abbey is remarkable), but you get the impression it's a really nice place to live. It grew on me. I hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mclib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We only stayed a single night and that was plenty. If this is a four star hotel, it must get it by the skin of its teeth.

The hotel is obviously on the tour bus route and there were large coach parties staying whilst we were there.

The room was OK but very dated and roaring hot even after turning off all the heating and opening the windows. There was no shaver point in the bathroom nor any natural light.

The general areas and reception felt very bashed about.

Breakfast was served in a very nice room and the food was good.

There's also an odd arrangement where the hotel bar doubles as a town pub and that leads into the Town Hall Restaurant (which was very good).

Not a hotel I shall be using again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were disappointed to read your review and we should have been able to ensure that the temperature issue was swiftly dealt with - approximately half our rooms are air-conditioned and careful management control should deliver appropriate warmth and comfort to the other rooms.

A couple of our lounge chairs were out recently for re upholstering and I am sorry if that contributed to a slightly different feel to the hotel lobby which is generally so popular with our guests.

We will carefully discuss the issues you raised with our team and once again would like to apologise for any shortcomings you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing