We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Poets Corner”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Poets Corner, the bar in the Old Ground Hotel is a superb place to have lunch or dinner. The cosy atmosphere together with the delicious food and friendly staff are the reasons I return to the Poets Corner time and time again. The menu has something for all tastes with food cooked to order and a great selection of local produce.On my most recent visit I enjoyed a St. Tola's cheese tartlet served with fresh salad leaves - delicious! The apple tart was just as my granny used to make - lots of apple ! My friend had chicken kiev served with potatoes and fresh vegetables followed by bread and butter pudding a declared it the tastiest meal she had eaten in long while !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 649jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Old Ground the night before our morning flight out of Shannon airport. It was by far the nicest hotel on our trip as well as the least expensive. The rooms were very large and very well appointed. All the furnishings and amenities were high-end. We ate at eh hotel bar which served excellent food...not at all typical pub fare. The hotel is also well situated for walking around the city center.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocket0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were first introduced to the Old Ground several years ago by my daughter and then boy friend. We have visited many times and we have always been impressed by not only the quality of the hotel but by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. So much so that my daughter and fiancee decided to get married there. Bearing in mind that we live in the U K this made the organisation side of things some what more complicated. After a few initial teething problems we were well on are way to the big day, and what a day it was.

We could not have have wished for any thing more from the moment we arrived from the cathedral (just across the road) to when every body was just about to drop at the end of the evening (early hours of the morning actually) it was perfection, poetry.

The reception on the lower floor with canopes bubbly and Guinness, of course right through to the reception for the main meal in the main hall was wonderful.

The staff including Alan Flynn ( the proprietor) couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzoBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have stayed in Old Ground a couple of times and always enjoyed our stay.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Service always excellent.
Great atmosphere and Hotel is in heart of the town.
Very Centrally located, only short distance from shops etc.
We will be staying there again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank limerickennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here recently to break up a journey between galway and cork. We had only planned 1 night but we loved this old style hotel so we stayed 2 nights. The location is perfect in the centre of Ennis! There was plenty of parking. There was a wedding on the 1st night we stayed and our room was facing onto the street but we didn't hear a thing. Food was tasty and service was excellent, there was live music in the bar both nights which was great. Even though this hotel is old it has great charm and I'll come back again to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We came for our friends wedding and were welcomed by the helpful staff on arrival, we stayed in room 106 which had been nicely refurbished, and we were able to access the free wifi in our room and throughout the hotel.
The attached bar was busy and welcoming and had live music for the weekend we were there, breakfast was continental and also a cooked order was taken along with this.
Had a great time whilst we were there and we're very well looked after by all he staff, the food was great as was the drink (black stuff)
Even had online check in facility to aid our returning flight
A great location for Ennis as through the attached pub door your onto the main road

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Iain2936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at The Old Ground for two nights. The staff was helpful and very nice. We enjoyed the breakfast very much. However, some remodeling was taking place during our stay which made it difficult to get back and forth to our room. My father is handicapped and it was difficult for him to maneuver the stairs which was necessary because of the painting. The sitting areas were lovely and did afford some privacy. We also enjoyed being so close to all the shops and pubs and will probably give this hotel another try.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. I am so sorry that we did not notice that your father had difficulty on the stairs. We should have allocated him a room near the elevator and he could have been whisked to the floor. We actually have a special room for those with a physical difficulty that is close to the elevator. We have done some extensive redecorating of our corridors and had tried to ensure that guests were located on a different floor while this work was going on. I assure you of our very best attention on another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $96 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing