We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for last night in Ireland”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in the heart of Ennis. My husband & I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon & I was so glad we picked it! Upon check-in, we found we had been upgraded to the Brendan O'Regan Suite, which was such a fun surprise. Since we were pretty exhausted by this point in our trip, we found the suite to be an extremely welcome oasis of luxury :). There was live music in the downstairs pub, Poet's Corner & we meant to make it down there, but our room was so lovely that we just got a pizza & stayed in for the evening!

I have read some of the negative reviews & I wanted to say that I did not find the hallways difficult to navigate at all & thought all the decor that I saw was beautiful & not in need of updating. The front desk was absolutely friendly & accomodating & we would definitely stay here again. Hopefully we will get the chance as we both felt Ennis was a charming town we wished we could have spent a little more time in.

Tom & Katie Morley

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brendan O'Regan Suite & it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. A lovely old hotel - full of character, but with modern amenities. We were upgraded to a suite and could not have been happier with the hotel or the employees. An absolutely charming place to spend the first night of our long anticipated vacation in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMackMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel does not have a spa or pool but iff you are looking for old world comfort, good food, fantastic customer service and really good food, then this is the place for you. And Ennis town offers so much you wouldn't have time for the spa anyway. Spent the w/e here with group of 21, we travel away once a year and reviews across the group were that this place was fantastic. This hotel has buckets of atmosphere, the type of place that literally hugs you when you walk in the door. Old house with old world charm, great pub with live traditional music in the evening. Main restaurant is full of the charm of the hotel, excellent meals every evening here. There is also a modern cafe where you can get more contemporary food and great coffee and snacks all day also. The place also has a briliant pub, always full of people. We had lunch here and it was excellent, fresh fish, fresh vegetables and plenty of it. This hotel caters for all foodies. And when you walk out the front door you are in the thick of Ennis which is a fantastic country town with wonderful boutique shops. This place is bursting with atmosphere. Really reasonably priced and anything we asked for was no trouble. Great hotel, really well run, great staff, go visit folks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Charming old property, but very up to date and comfortable. Rooms modern/clean/well equipped. Food excellent & well presented. Convenient location in center of town. We were sorry that we had only 1 night here-----next visit we will stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The O'Donoghue family which originated from Inch, Glenflesk Co Kerry held their 7th Family Reunion in the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, Co. Clare on October 13th 2012. The service provided by the hotel was excellent both in the planning and on the evening of the event. The Events Manager was very helpful in providing information and suggestions on suite selection, menu choice and entertainment. The menu was superb. It consisted of a choice of three starters, choice of five main courses which included catering for coeliac and vegetarian diets plus a selection of deserts and tea / coffee.
50 family members attended from all over the country and the UK. Many of the families stayed in the hotel for the weekend and found that from the moment they set foot in the hotel, the service was first class. The staff were very polite, curtious, friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and it was evident that the hotel staff wanted to ensure that their guests were well looked after during their stay. On the evening of the party, the manager and staff were available throughout the evening to assist as necessary. The Maguire Suite was ideal for the party of 50. It was set up with 5 round tables of 10 seats per table. The tables were beautifully presented with candelabras and fresh flowers. The decor provide a very relaxed atmosphere. The hotel staff were very helpful in advising the guests who stayed in the hotel of local facilities etc. I would highly recommend this venue for anybody planning a family reunion.

Room Tip: all rooms were comfortable clean and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really disappointing!
The quality for a 4 star hotel is higher than you ever get here.
Not enough parking spaces, no swimming pool, no gym, lot of things really old or broken.
Our chairs where very very old and broken.
Bathroom was not clean.
Kit edges with mold.
And a lot more of that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RT d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our second visit to The Old Ground and once again loved it. We stayed two nights which included breakfast and one evening meal. We had dinner in the dining room on the first night. It was superb. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. And above all served to us with such lovely friendliness. On the second evening we had food in The Poets corner bar. This was also excellent. The breakfast each morning was also wonderful. We have stayed in many hotels in Europe, Scandinavia and USA (many 5 star) but I think The Old Ground can not be beaten for a feeling of welcoming comfort. I love the lobby and adjoining seating rooms where you can sit by the fire, read your book or newspaper or converse with other guests visiting Ireland. I would love to return for a visit at Christmas time when I imagine the place even feels more cosy. To conclude it's a real 'feel good plce to stay'

Room Tip: We stayed both times at the car park side of the hotel and had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
853 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $92 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing