We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bloody worth it!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not bloody worth it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of February and it was not a very pleasant experience.The breakfast was cold and pretty much inedible and the waiting staff were standing around chatting and making a bloody noise.I did not come to Ireland to listen to Polish!Although they were at least friendlier than the fake and insincere Irish staff.Granted,the room was not bad.but you would expect more for the price.I can however,only be fair,and end this review by complimenting the young German lady at the reception desk.I forget her name,something along the lines of Svenja I think,but she really was fantastic.Friendly,and far more professional than anybody else I had the misfortune of dealing with.All in all,I would highly recommend not staying at this hotel.In fact,skip the whole town and rather stay in one of the smaller coastal villages.If you can find anything open.
Rory W
Havana,Cuba.

  • Liked — the receptionist
  • Disliked — everthing else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brentm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    425
    94
    49
    24
See reviews for
289
616
59
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

The Old Ground is one of the best country hotels I have stayed in. The Lobby, restaurant and rooms had a nice feel and were well maintained, tasteful and comfortable. Their Poets Bar is probably the best in town and has good live traditional music. Did a trawl of all the bars and ended back here both nights. Would recommend getting there early as it got extremely busy later in the evening when the music kicked off.

The breakfast in particular was good with an excellent choice of good quality.

Would definately stay there again if I'm in County Clare again.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Not Much
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MacPropCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Just come back from a wonderful, relaxing weekend at The Old Ground. What a fantastic hotel. We booked a suite and got a weekend deal with meal included. The room was large and spotlessly clean. We had bathrobes and a turndown service (i mention this because i saw on another review that this did not happen). The food was exceptional with a huge variety from three restaurants. The staff were the most efficient and friendly i have ever encountered, considering i have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world. A truely amazing stay and we will most certainly be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank healysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend for our anniversary in December.We paid extra for a suite,which was lovely but not really worth the extra money,it lacked the little touches eg:bathrobes,turn down service which we have had in other hotels when booking the same type of room.The hotel is in a good location,very central with good parking.The food in the restaurant is lovely but we were seated right beside the door which was a bit of a let down.The staff of the hotel were aware it was our anniversary but this went unnoticed which was dissapointing as when i booked the room the lady i spoke to ensured me the hotel would make it special.We are a young couple who dont like to complain and i think if we were older and made a bigger fuss things would have been different.Overall ok hotel but not what we expected.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank weston100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Stayed at the Old Ground Nov. 12 and 13th 2007.

It was difficult to find, but in a great location with good parking. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at( also stayed at Randles court, Killarney and The Brooks Hotel, Dublin)

It was clean, the beds were very comfortable, room was fine, excellent pub/restaurant - we ate there twice and food was great.
Service desk/reception area was top notch. I highly recommend it. Ennis was a great town to visit.

  • Liked — Room, location,restaurant
  • Disliked — Difficulty find it
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank massapequamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

We walked into the hotel after a terrible B&B experience (Gray Gables) and received a wonderful junior suite with breakfast for 2 for 100euro total! Hotel is a lovely old historic manor house in a great location. Pub downstairs is awesome and received great service from James. The hotel is located on the corner of the main street within walking distance to pubs and shops

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeWindsor_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
180 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2007

The hotel is in a central area of Ennis, and has a great bar with live Irish music. The reception staff were friendly and efficient.

The rooms are averagely sized, but nice and clean with a comfortable bed and a quality shower - loads of hot water! The shared areas upstairs were were clean and tidy, however the carpet was a little threadbare in places.

The breakfast is a buffet style continental with full Irish made to order. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel, and their steaks were delicious.

My only regret was not spending longer there!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing