We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining”

Cloister Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of medieval Ennis. This is a modern restaurant that serves fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful to visit for a light bar meal during the day or more inventive cuisine in the evenings.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had the pleasure of eating here Saturday night. Under new management and it shows. Everything about the place is excellent. Have now eaten in both the bar and restaurant and i give it 10/10. There is nothing bad i could say about the place. It leaves the rest of the eating establishments in Ennis far behind. I wish the place the best and hope it keeps up the standards it has set

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank SOLNOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear SOLNOF.

All of us at the Cloister were thrilled with your review, especially as you have tried both the restaurant and bar.
We do hope our hard work and passion for the Cloister will consistantly show in both the standards we set and try to surpass each day.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

Regards
Dermot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 545 of 583 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Was in last night for dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent, . staff and attention to detail the way it should be for fine dining . We will be back very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank yfriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Yfriel.

Sincere thanks for your kind review, the whole team here take real pride in seeing comments like these. We are greatful that you took the time to post your thoughts on your visit to the Cloister.

Kind regards

Dermot Fetton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

At last somewhere worth going to in Ennis. Have dined in restaurant and bar and my only complaint, I wanted everything on the menu. Staff so friendly and welcoming, food yum yum, place is spotless everything gleams. If you want to glam up this is the place but you can do casual just as easily. Trying to find a day to go back, for either lunch or dinner and def having the chowder. Thanks for doing such a great job looking after us!!

5  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear GK.

Thank you for your super review, your comments on the menu and food are great to read,as are your comments on the whole team. Everyone here is working hard to make the Cloister a special and friendly place to visit, and feel comfortable in.

Thanks again

Dermot & Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Many try in this town and not many succeed.
Bar food you would actually look forward to eating, better than some of the restaurants in town.
Food was excellent and very good value, augers very well for the restaurant, which I am hoping to try as soon as possible.
Only complaint, change the music a little more frequently

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Matthew S.

Thank you for your kind review, I do hope you get the chance to visit the restaurant also. And thanks for the heads up on the music "loop" I won't even try to blame the MP3 player, just myself...Working on it as I write.
Thanks again and do say hello next time you're in.

Kind regards

Dermot & Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had dinner in The Cloister bar this evening off the bar food menu . The food was top class and exceptional value for money . The presentation and taste was very good and the place is spotless . Dermot and his team were great . Castle martyr's loss is a gain for Ennis . Well done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarche, Manager at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

DearTom L.

Many thanks for your kind review, all the team at the Cloister were delighted to be spoken of in such a positive light.

Thanks again.
Dermot Fetton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloister Restaurant also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Cloister Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing