We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Knox's

Knox's
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of the bustling town of Ennis, Knox's is an enduringly popular local pub and bistro with an engaging and convivial atmosphere, establishing it as one of the most popular venues for nightlife and entertainment. Exposed stone and brickwork and wooden beams give the interior a rustic charm, while fresh local produce sets off the brasserie-style dishes on the menu in the upstairs restaurant. All sporting events including Championship hurling and football, Premiership games, Champions League, Six Nations and the Heineken Cup are all shown live in the bar. The resident DJs and live music will have you dancing and with the late night bar extension from Thursday to Sunday, Knox's keeps the lively and friendly crowd buzzing late into the night. Knox's is the ideal entertainment venue with Live Music five nights a week as well as DJs, pub quizzes and lots more. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the bar for all customers.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped into knoxs while on a overnight in Ennis , I liked the look of the menu and being a Veggie good grub can be hard to find , all three of us (two non veggies) enjoyed our food that was good value, the staff were friendly and the bar was clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KianGaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Knox's, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Kian, thanks for the feedback. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Knoxs. I can understand its hard to find nice vegetarian food but we enjoy looking after people on all sorts of dietary requirements and if your in the area again, give us a ring first and we can sort some extra vegetarian dishes for ye. Looking forward to seeing ye all again something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    123
    33
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent place for a quick bite to eat

Nice homemade Burger and chips and a pint for around 12 euro cant go wrong

Chicken Goujons are also excellent and great value for money , good casual atmosphere an plenty of tv's to watch a match

Chips are the nicest in Ennis , crispy and homemade none of that frozen crap!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Knox's, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Ger, thanks for the great review!! I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to our Bar. We also have a restaurant upstairs above the bar so next time your in, make sure to have a look! We appreciate you leaving feedback as it only benefits us in the long term. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening - thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food, service and atmosphere were all top rate. There were four of us celebrating a birthday. The staff really looked after us and made us feel special and every course was excellent. Thank you Knox's - we will all return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Knox's, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Melanie! Thanks for the brilliant review, we really enjoy hearing from our customers. I'm delighted ye all enjoyed each course and I hope the birthday celebrations went well after ye left! We look forward to seeing ye again in our bar and restaurant in the future. Maybe for another birthday celebration even! Thanks again for the review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Heard great reports about Knox's Bistro so decided to give it the full test by bringing the family for the early bird menu. It did not fail. Loreta who served us for the evening was extremely professional and couldn't do enough for my wife, 3 kids(7,3,1yr) and myself. Price and quality of the food were ideal. Great to see somewhere in Ennis that understands the importance of every small detail. Setting is perfect for a romantic meal aswell so I will be leaving the kids with the mother-in-law the next time : ) Will definitely be back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank clubhotelbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Knox's, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi there, thanks for the incredible review!! We love getting feedback from customers and we really appreciate it. I'm delighted that ye all enjoyed the visit and I hope to see ye again in the future. We love looking after the little ones too so if that babysitter falls through, they'll be well looked after by us in the restaurant! Thanks again for the fantastic review and we all look forward to seeing the whole family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a lovely meal in the restuarant Saturday night, went for a drink in the bar first. the place was busy with lots of groups around the place and bar food seemed to be really busy. Good service in the bar and had a fab 3 course meal in the restuarant. Lovely atmosphere and attentive service. Could not beat the value €20.95 only for 3 courses. Very happy with overal experience, service and tasty food. highly recommend a vist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan O, Public Relations Manager at Knox's, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Cathryn, thank you so much for this brilliant review!! We love getting feedback from customers as it only benefits us in the long term. I'm delighted you enjoyed our service, food and atmosphere and all of us here at Knoxs are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again for the fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knox's also viewed

 
Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Knox's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing