We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ormeau, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good guesthouse”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On our recent visit to Ireland, we found the highly superior Ardilaun Guesthouse very comfortable. We are a 'mature' age couple and we had our own hire car. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast really good. Unfortunately, we were on our way elsewhere so could not stay more than one night, but if we ever return to Ireland, this guesthouse will be on our list of places to stay. This purpose built guesthouse has everything the traveller needs.We can highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Patricia,

Thank you very much for your kind words. People like you and your partner make the hard work worthwhile :) Thanks for appreciating the effort that we put in to keeping our Guesthouse comfortable and of a high standard.
You would certainly be welcome back to Ardilaun anytime and we would very much enjoy looking after you.

Best regards,
Anne Purcell

Ardilaun Guesthouse owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very clean room. Tea and coffee in the room. Nice bathroom. Gym available, even sauna if you wish. Good breakfast with great choice. Lovely location, beside the river. Not too far from town. Very good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Kasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and good rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,
Ardilaun Guesthouse

Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at the Ardilaun was lovely. We arrived at 9:30 AM having landed at Shannon Airport earlier that morning. We were exhausted and hoped to check in early, but Mrs. Purcells had a full house. Still, she and her staff got us into a room within one hour. We had a nice nap and were ready to start our Ireland trip. The beds were large and comfy, the room and bathroom perfectly clean, and it was very quiet. We loved the view of the river out back, and enjoyed being awakened each morning by the mooing cows. Breakfast was prompt and delicious. It was a good two miles to walk into Ennis city, but we didn't mind. We enjoyed hiking around the countryside near this B&B. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Chose riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidbpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and good rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,
Ardilaun Guesthouse

Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this very nice and clean guesthouse. If you are looking for something right next to the center this guest house might not be ideal for you as it takes a 25min walk to get there. Otherwise i can absolutely recommend this accomodation. We had a great time there.
Btw WiFi worked fine at the ground floor for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and good rating. We are always happy to drop our Customers in to the town of Ennis if they feel the walking distance is too much. We would be glad to provide this service on a repeat visit :)

Best regards,
Ardilaun Guesthouse

Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great value for the stay! Would definitely recommend this to anyone that wishes to stay in between Shannon airport and Cliffs of Moher. Our room size was decent and the bed was comfortable and clean. We requested a room facing the backyard so it was very quite at night.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayonaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and good rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,
Ardilaun Guesthouse

Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed in this guesthouse by the water, a really lovely location with seating on a deck beside the steam to enjoy . We were placed in a downstairs bedroom for our two night stay and despite advertising Free Internet in all areas this was not the case. The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed however we did not get to enjoy our room as we were always having to go upstairs to a guest lounge to use our internet and were told that yes it did not work downstairs. There are 4 rooms out of the 14 on offer downstairs so I feel this to be false advertising that internet is available in all areas. The operators of the guesthouse also had a rather stingy attitude and always were the lights turned off to the staircase and downstairs section of the house even when we were upstairs using the guest lounge, which made it quite dark to safely use the stairwell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a rating we appreciate all feedback provided.
We are happy you enjoyed some elements of your stay.
On the wifi, as we have had issue with the router/booster we have updated the webpage and websites of our affiliates to state that wifi is free in the reception area. Until such time that we get efibre broadband to our home (which is expected this week) we have updated the description on our websites.
We offered you the most restful and peaceful rooms in the house downstairs with river access, if you werne't happy to be downstairs and would have preferred an upstairs room, you should have requested one and if one was available we would have gladly provided you with same.

There is a lamp at the bottom of the stairs going down to the 4 rooms which remains on at all times. There would never have been an occasion where this lamp was turned off for safety reasons. If you believe this lamp was turned off then please alert me to that as this lamp remains on at all times. We certainly would never risk people's safety over the price of a low energy bulb, (thankfully we are not that badly off) as we are energy aware and it is better for the environment. :)

Thanks for your feedback.

Best regards,
Anne and PJ Purcell
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfw
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Before arrival in Shannon, we booked this B&B via the WEB; as they take credit cards (unusual for B*&B in Ireland). The rooms are very clean. There are some that smell of smoke. The smoke small is not overwhelming; but annoying for a non-smoking B&B. The back is quiet. The front faces the road (can be busy). The breakfast was Irish typical; but not fantastic.

Room Tip: rear of facility - not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in providing the rating as we appreciate all feedback provided.
We apologise if your stay was uncomfortable due to the smell of smoke. We advise people that we have very sensitive smoke alarms fitted in the room and that all smoking should take place outdoors. Unfortunately we cannot legislate for what goes on in people's rooms. We try to air them out as much as possible during the day in this scenario. We will be aware of this in the future.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Ennis.

Best regards,
Anne and PJ Purcell
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Recent recipient of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ennis hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
820 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardilaun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardilaun Guesthouse

Property: Ardilaun Guesthouse
Address: Illaun House 18) Galway Road (M, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardilaun Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardilaun Guesthouse is a modern comfortable award winning 4* Guesthouse located within walking distance of Ennis town centre. It also has the perfect location for touring the west of Ireland (20 mins to Shannon Airport, 30 mins to Limerick, 40 mins to Cliffs of Moher, 50 mins to Galway). During your stay you can avail of our gymnasium facilities free of charge or opt to relax in our sauna while enjoying river views. You may wish to try some fishing on our river side fishing deck. All rooms are en-suite and have tea-coffee facilities / hairdryers / satellite TV. The rear facing rooms have beautiful views over the River Fergus, some with direct access on to the river. We also have free Wifi. Enjoy breakfast in our bright east facing dining room with a choice of full Irish, continental, fruits, yogurts, cereals, juices where the cooked breakfast is to order as per the individual's request. All special dietary requests are catered for. Relax in our lounge and make plans for your day trips in the west, where we are more than willing to help you with directions, local knowledge and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ardilaun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing