We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to go in Ennis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poet's Corner Bar

Poet's Corner Bar
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The place to go in Ennis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic vacation in Ireland with my wife, daughter and future son-in-law where our trip was made extra special with a night of fun, great food and terrific music at the Poet's Corner Bar.
If you want a great place to eat that's spacious, a great atmosphere and excellent wait staff head straight to Poet's Corner. Sit by the front door if you want a birdseye view of the musicians who are very accomplished and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    166
    28
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rock Springs, WY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Bartender and server were efficient and friendly...cool paintings on the wall, celebrating Ireland's rich literary history...a couple secluded nooks and crannies for dining. The place advertised live music beginning at 8:30 on a Wednesday night, but as of 9, it hadn't started: instead, a bored-looking musician with his instruments in cases and his coat on sat slumped checking his messages, emailing, texting...so we left in search of music. Maybe some other time on some other night the music happens.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a meal with some friends at this restaurant recently. Poets Corner was recommended to us and we were pleased with our meal. It came as ordered and service was good. Poets Corner is part of the Bar of the Old Ground Hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GObnait28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Old style pub, cozy, great for an intimate dinner and drinks. Traditional Irish musicians added to the charm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful Place, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived in Ennis hungry and in the pouring rain. Even if the weather had been perfect and our hunger not that urgent, we would have thoroughly enjoyed our meal; it was wonderful. My dining companions had seafood, and I had the (recommended by our B&B host) vegetable spring rolls. "Spring rolls" is what the menu said--but they're about twice the size of any that I'd ever had before! Huge portions of a variety of shredded marinated vegetables were stuffed into flaky layers of pastry and delivered piping hot to the table, along with a green salad on the side. My only complaint is that they were a little greasy on the outside, but as the food cooled, the oil did not congeal as it often does with deep-fried food (wonder how they manage that?). My solution was simply to peel off the outer layers, leaving me with an ample portion of wrapper and more vegetable filling than I could finish in one sitting. The seafood dishes were, according to my table mates, among the best they'd had on our trip, from Dublin to the fishing villages of Dingle and Kinsale. The staff were helpful and attentive, and the atmosphere is charming. We'd have eaten here again if we'd been able to extend our stay in Ennis. (I hear they have great traditional music later in the evening--sorry we missed it.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poet's Corner Bar also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Poet's Corner Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing