We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corcomroe Abbey”
Review of Corcomroe Abbey

Corcomroe Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.48*
and up
Cliffs of Moher, Coast of County Clare and The Burren Day Tour from Galway
Ranked #37 of 160 things to do in County Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Corcomroe Abbey”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited the Abbey on our Paddy Wagon tour. It was such a fascinating place. So many headstones lying all over the place. Unfortunately I never got to look that long.
It was very windy when we went and even more so in the Abbey while we looked around.
It's such a shame that all these places have become ruins.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As part of the Cliffs of Moher tour we did with Extreme Ireland, this historical attraction is delightful and entertaining. It is amazing to visit a ruin that has been around for centuries. They did a great job preserving and restoring it. The place is both eerie and serene. It gives this sense of wonder of the past. We didn't stay long but the time spent is enough to wander around. It's a good place to stop, visit and take some pictures.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful, other wordly”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The ruins of this abbey is astounding. My only regret is that I didn't spend a lot of time there. I could have spent the entire day, walking around and reading the headstones. It is absolutely amazing in every sense of the word. Plus, the sight is huge. It's an amazing feeling just to stand there and look around you. Amazing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DestenieDestenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruins”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The ruins of this abbey had a certain peace about them as we wandered around. There wasn't much explanation within the site, but our tour guide (Paddywagon) did a great job of enlightening us on the history! I would recommend that you read some information about the site if you go outside of a tour to get the impact of the full experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennibeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feeling of past”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The ruins of the 12th century abbey are an interesting place to visit, where you can feel the past surrounding you, but I was impressed more by the traditional Irish crosses I could see "in original".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank editHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcomroe Abbey also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Corcomroe Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing