We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My go-to place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted's Bakery

Ted's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My go-to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you go for breakfast, chances are you'll be back for lunch or dinner. Call ahead so you can just pick up your order and go. Well, after you give in to temptation and add those pastries staring at you while you pay your tab. The croissants are nice and buttery. The garlic shrimp plate surprised me--cheese actually can be good on seafood. But I truly loved that teriyaki chicken sandwich.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneGG_901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    405
    137
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad I stopped here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was vacationing at friends' house in Mililani and decided to drive to the north shore one day. I looked up some eating places online and zeroed in on Ted's because it was described as a local hangout. I really didn't know what to expect and was surprised at how small it was, but boy was it busy. Local surfers, tourists, and even a truckload of local firemen (with surfboards on the fire truck, no less). Service to order was quick but a considerable wait to get my order because it was so busy, but no matter because the food is terrific. I had the mahi maki sandwich, which was really good. I also got a slice of the chocolate-haupia pie and wish I'd gotten the whole pie! If I ever get back to Oahu, I'll definitely get to Ted's again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spacecoastfloridagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yup. We loved it - but not because of the pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Party of 8 - everyone wanted the garlic shrimp plate lunch that came with a slice of the famous chocolate-haupia (coconut) pie.

The sweet counter girl figured out how we could by the shrimp family style with sides and save about $20 on our meal

The shrimp was delicious, lots of garlic, but not bitter, hot or burned tasting. (Garlic lovers know what I mean) We all loved it.

The pie was over-rated. It was good, but nothing to build a legacy around…

Would go back. Fed family of 8 hungry people fro under $100. Don;t le the fact that it looks like a dive deter you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AZwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our family stayed at the condos at Turtle Bay and knew we needed to take a trip out to Ted's. We clocked it at just over 3 miles from the resort. It's a little shack of a place on t he main road - easy to find. There is outdoor seating and a small parking lot. We knew it opened at 7am and since we were still on mountain time, we were up early. We got there at 6:50 am and there was already a group of people waiting outside! It opened about 10 minutes late and by that time there was a line. It's a little confusing when you first walk in. With the pressure of the line, you didn't really have time to review the menu items. So we got in line and just picked quickly. We opted for a frosted cinnamon roll, a glazed cinnamon roll, and a breakfast sandwich. The cinnamon rolls were large enough to be shared. I also grabbed a coffee. All were really good. The breakfast sandwich was really good! They also offer sandwiches, we didn't make it for lunch. But every time we drove by the place there were a ton of people there. The pricing was also really reasonable compared to what we spent at the restaurants at the resort.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
394 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The pie was amazing.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

You have to have a slice of any of their cream pies.....my cousin talked me out of buying an entire pie and it was a HUGE mistake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Columbus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing