We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau

Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau
Book In Advance
Book Now
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Wailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Worst experience I had on such a beautiful island. Did a luau in Maui. A thousand times better. This one was all about getting as many people under their park/cabin canopy as possible. They tour you through a tram, nothing but quick comments by the train driver. Food was OK. We left right after, not waiting to be herded to the second stage, waiting for the Smith's version of a luau. The Fern Grotto tour also was the worst. I challenge anyone on that boat ride to tell us differently. Worst money we spent during what was, aside from that, a totally wonderful two weeks in Kauai. Seriously. Do not do the fern Grotto or Luau. WORST WASTE OF MONEY

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey11603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    51
    35
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have attended the Smith luau and on another visit I just went to the show. The grounds are positively beautiful. If you go for the entire package, you will be taken around the park on a motorized train. They tell you about all the various areas in the park and point out different trees and flowers. The birds of many, many varieties walk around without fear of humans or motorized vehicles! I really enjoyed the show they put on while you eat dinner. The host is so personable and has a lovely voice. He also walks around and gives coffee refills with a big smile! I was fascinated with the entire Smith family. They were so pleasant and obviously tolerant. There were probably 500 people seated for the dinner. I enjoyed the show in the amphitheater. They pay tribute to all of the different nationalities of the people that settled Kauai. The well done show ends with a fire dancer that knows how to "wow" an audience! The tickets for the show only were $15 purchased in advance online. A bargain! The entire luau was around $75 per person.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluepacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Other Luau's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just got back and I got to say Smiths Luau by far has the best food. There grounds were beautiful all but there ducks Ugly ducklings. We went on a few other activities but the Activity specialist at the Safeway shopping center named Jamie there phone number is (808-212-6897) steered us in the perfect direction on all our activities. There was so much we didn't know being first timers. He told us a few tricks about Smiths Luau that really enhanced our experience. Go see him he will give you the best prices, I know we checked all his prices and he by far exceeds anyone else s discounts. He gave us restaurants discounts and waterfall maps we could have never found a few of those waterfalls. Again don't waste your money on the other Luaus Smiths has it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scubaBillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Luau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a very large group of 17 and we were accomodated with a table. The food was quite good for a buffet, though pricey. $78 for the package with dinner but only $15 if you just went to the show. Drinks were complimentary but the wine was Vendange. For the price a better wine could be served. The show was very nice and just the right length. There could have been some fire dancing interspersed with the songs. Introducing everyone so slowly at the end was a letdown after a great ending. Seating was ample for the show. Signage for the entrance off the main highway is not good and we missed the turn twice. Once you've seen a luau, one is enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Overall amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our entire experience at the Luau. It started out with a boat ride to the Fern Grotto. We could have probably done without this part but we did enjoy the entertainment on the boat on the way back. When we entered the property we took the tram tour which was really nice. We had lots of time to walk around the property before the Imu ceremony began. We enjoyed every minute of the Imu ceremony, dinner and the performance afterwards. The dinner was delicious. Tons of options and a good mixture of authentic Hawaiian food as well as typical American/Canadian favorites. The performance after dinner was very entertaining also. We heard tons of wonderful things about this Luau before we attended and it was all validated when we went. Wonderful experience for all ages!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDR070613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau also viewed

 

Been to Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing