We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good prices, great staff”
Review of An Siopa Beag

An Siopa Beag
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cape Clear
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, great staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

There is only one shop on Cape Clear. Luckily, this is very well run and good value for money. The prices are comparable with any other family-run grocers store on the mainland. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem.

Food is served all day in the summer and is constantly good, with many low prices specials on the board. Roasts are regularly on the menu, very generous portions at a very reasonable cost. From scones to mussels, cheesecake to chowder, sandwiches to steaks, all good. There are lots of outside tables overlooking the harbour, where children can play on the beach.

Then there are the pizzas!!!!! I have never tasted better anywhere else...so tasty, so crispy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyandDaveCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pizza outside of Italy”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a meal there with four friends this summer(2012) whilst staying on the island. The staff serving there, like most of the islanders were warm and very accommodating. The decor of the restaurant is best described as rustic and shares some of the space with "the little shop" . The returant served freshly prepared food and all of my freinds who ate there (about 12 people) said the food was great . my own meal was a sundreid tomato and chorizo Pizza not the traditional fayre for an Irish fishing island but it was fantastic and i suspect they may be holding an Italian chef under siege in the kitchens. The best time to eat is whenever you can catch a table as its usually busy. the prices were reasonable and well worth it for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fabulous location, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved being able to sit, read and chat while kids played on the beach and swam. This is the perfect spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mybace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wide-ranging menu”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wide-ranging menu and not badly priced. One of only two establishments serving sit-down food and the only one which could come up with a vegetarian option!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CorkTouristOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlelyons
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the friendliest shop, restaurant and pub for sure”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back from a stay in Cape Clear. Loved the extremely friendly service in all 3 outlets An Siopa Beag has. The food in the restaurant was delicious, even got the thumbs up from my very fussy boys. The shop stocked the freshest and tastiest brown bread I ever had ! Loved it so much, I bought a fresh loaf this morning to bring home with me ! And the service in the pub was second to non. Do yourself a favor and stop there. You wont regret it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin_G_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Siopa Beag also viewed

 

Been to An Siopa Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing