We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a treat, could not have imagined better!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
AwesomeJo...
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a treat, could not have imagined better!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was my friends wedding in Linlithgow and I was best man, so stress free was high on my priorities, and Ochil View did not disappoint.

We had been on the road for what seemed an eternity, driving from Lincolnshire, we just wanted to get in and put the kettle on. Once we arrived just off the main road, parked on the driveway, we were very impressed, well kept garden, lovely outside veranda outback.

We entered and we were so impressed, even the kids said wow. There was a bowl of fruit, eggs, bread, milk everything to look after us, the place was decorated very nicely and the rooms were above average size. For the money this place beats any hotel by a long stretch!

I was a bit stressed with my best man responsibilities but Ochil View certainly took one of the stresses away, we will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the rooms, decor
Liked least: There were some plug in air fresheners that was a bit over powering when first arrived, might be due to smelling exhaust fumes on the M79 for 2 hours.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
HASTE YE BACK....I am pleased to know Ochil View was a comfortable stress free stay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveandt...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful base for our first trip to Scotland!”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week at Orchil View! It is comfortable and spacious, yet with a cosy feel. Leanne ensures a very warm and friendly welcome - her advice was invaluable during our stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and access to the local area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
I am pleased you got to enjoy a touch of Scotland and the house was a comfortable base for your trip. It was lovely meeting you . HASTE YE BACK
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferribyti...
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Fabulous accommodation at a great price. What sets it apart is attention to detail. From a very generous welcome pack to warm comfortable beds. It even has Sky TV. Leanne who is next door has thought of everything & is on hand for help & advice. Location very good just off the M9 perfect for Edinburgh or Stirling. We found it very quiet & relaxing.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and welcoming.”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Easy to feel at home here. Groceries on arrival were very helpful. Peaceful surroundings and accommodating owner. Will be back.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail.
Liked least: Wifi was a bit inconsistent.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river603
Egremont, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for our needs”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house suited us well all rooms good size nice quiet location. The owner happy to answer any questions,nice touch with starter pack of food,would consider booking again if visiting the area.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable home away from home!”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great communication from owner. Arrived to find 'welcome pack' of goodies, including essentials like milk, bread, eggs, orange juice, etc. - was very appreciated.
House was spacious enough for my family of five (2 adults, 3 children - 6, 9, 12 ), yet warm and homely with many little cosy touches added.

Although house is situated in a residential area, it is a small countryside village and minimum noise disturbance was experienced from neighbourhood, nor passing traffic. The location is ideal for exploring key cities, such as Edinburgh or Glasgow by train (from Linlithgow, few minutes drive) or both latter cities and also Stirling and Saint Andrews from the easy acces to major motorways.
For rainy days, Livingston is around 15-20mins by car and one will find a huge indoor shopping mall with many shops and restaurants - alternatively one can stay at home and enjoy watching movies from the extensive DVD collection available.
To keep kids entertained, one will find Beecraigs park nearby, as well as the historic town of Linlithgow (Palace, boat trips on lake, or on union canal). Slightly further away is Deep Sea World at Queensferry (Forth Bridge is worth walking over - very windy!), and South Queensferry is worth a visit for a romantic evening stroll.
The newly installed Kelpies are also worth a visit. On a very warm day, take some swimwear/change of clothes for the kids and one will find a water-fountain feature they will love to play in.

I visit the area at least once per year and normally rent isolated cottage type accommodation. I booked Ochil Hills mainly due to it's close proximity to wedding venue, and am very glad to have made this discovery. My kids really preferred this accommodation and insist we come back here next time!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort
Liked least: No toilet located in upstairs near bedrooms.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sghol
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good, great location”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Ochil View which is located a short drive outside of Edinburgh in a peaceful location. The house has everything you need. We had family over on our first night and there was no shortage of cups, plates for dinner etc. The owners very thoughtfully (and much appreciated) stock the fridge for your arrival with milk, butter, jam, orange and apple juice and bread. There was also lovely Scottish shortbread biscuits to accompany the much needed cup of coffee after a long journey! The lounge space is great for having people over or relaxing and the facilities are great.

The only reason I can't give this property a 5* (I would like to give it 4.5) is due to the fact for our puppy we needed the outside space to be enclosed. We have a King Charles puppy who would easily have been able to get through the trees forming the partition to next doors property and would have escaped. We also couldn't close the gate as our car, an audi estate couldn't fit onto the drive fully. Our dog loves being outside and it was a shame he couldn't. If you have a smaller car or a well trained dog it's perfect.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing