We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
sghol
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good, great location”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Ochil View which is located a short drive outside of Edinburgh in a peaceful location. The house has everything you need. We had family over on our first night and there was no shortage of cups, plates for dinner etc. The owners very thoughtfully (and much appreciated) stock the fridge for your arrival with milk, butter, jam, orange and apple juice and bread. There was also lovely Scottish shortbread biscuits to accompany the much needed cup of coffee after a long journey! The lounge space is great for having people over or relaxing and the facilities are great.

The only reason I can't give this property a 5* (I would like to give it 4.5) is due to the fact for our puppy we needed the outside space to be enclosed. We have a King Charles puppy who would easily have been able to get through the trees forming the partition to next doors property and would have escaped. We also couldn't close the gate as our car, an audi estate couldn't fit onto the drive fully. Our dog loves being outside and it was a shame he couldn't. If you have a smaller car or a well trained dog it's perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosni
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, quiet and well-appointed”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Leanne responded very promptly to our last-minute request for a two night stay. Upon arriving, we were impressed by all the little touches-- things like a torch hanging by the key box so guests arriving later don't have to fumble around in the dark, and the bowl of fruit, coffee and tea, and eggs left for us so we didn't have to run to the grocery immediately for essentials-- that made it obvious that a lot of thought has gone into making this a comfortable place for travelers.

The house was very clean, with spacious bedrooms, a well-stocked eat-in kitchen, and a living room with a cheery fireplace and enough room for the whole family to hang out (2 full sized couches and a loveseat). There is a flat screen TV with satellite and a good selection of movies for adults and children in the living room, nice for quiet evenings or when the famous Scotland weather is acting up. The back deck has a grill and canopied dining table for al fresco dining when the weather is good.

We briefly met Leanne and her husband Allan - very warm and friendly folks. When Allan heard we were leaving for Glasgow airport the following day, he took the time to help us plan a route around the morning traffic that shaved about 15 minutes off the route our sat nav told us to go.

In short, we found this place to be a gem - very relaxing and refreshing for our final couple of days in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene H
Viby, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in quiet area, but within easy reach of Edinburgh Airport.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A whole house at your disposal in a quiet area but within easy reach of Edinburgh Airport. Fully equipped kitchen with an excellent welcome pack of goodies on table and fridge! Friendly hostess who lives next-door, so that any questions can be answered, if need be.
Other interesting tourist attractions are to be found in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senthil_k...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away home”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house was excellent, well cleaned, had all the facilities, convenient location and lovely quiet town. The house got everything we need and we felt home away home. I can highly recommend and look forward to have another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driesen A
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: It was very cosy and warm
Liked least: There were only 4 chairs in the kitchen, the cruks were too high for the table
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing