We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden Country House
Ranked #4 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful B&B on the outskirts of Linlithgow. Breakfast was out this world -Full Scottish breakfast or a number of delicious alternatives. Owner could not do enough to make the stay successful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Manager at Arden Country House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and to hear about the wonderful 60th Birthday Party you were attending.

Thank you also for your lovely comments on the breakfast menu. We try hard to ensure that as many as possible of our ingredients are Scottish and ideally locally sourced. The rhubarb was hand picked and cooked at 7am that morning and the yoghurt is homemade.

Wishing you a wonderful summer and hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you , the next time you visit Linlithgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
115
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We wanted a comfortable base for a family gathering at short notice and saw the reviews with so many 5* and thought there had to be a reason for this and there is - xecellence. Pre-arranging our late arrival was done in a very pleasant professional manner. On arrival as larte as we had suspected there was just the right amount of welcome - as we were tired and did not want too much fuss. The house is immaculate and the room large and very comfortable with so many nice touches and all the essentials to hand and some nice extras like home made shortbread and a wee mint biscuit. Wireless is secured - I appreciated that it was not open. Beth the land lady served us breakfast of mainly locally produced. A delightful range of fruit dishes including melon, strawberries, apricots, and two muesli, plus nuts and a yoghurt dish. The full Scottish was well cooked and my dairy intolerance well catered for. Home made scones and muffins and lovely jam and marmalade were all there too. Beth was friendly and informative about the area and also gave us advice on roads and directions.

The bathroom was well lade out and very very clean with plenty of hot water. All the little details were thought through as consistently here as every where else in this very highly commendable B&B. Shame we were too late for the afternoon tea on arrival.

Do believe the reviews and make time for a visit.

I notice that Beth always reads and replies to the reviews and so I will express here our thank to her for such a fine welcome and play to stay.

Room Tip: I think we were in the Stirling room (ground floor - go in turn left straight ahead)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colsandannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and it is so nice to read your lovely comments about the accommodation and your overall experience.

The weather was extremely kind during your stay and I do hope it added to your enjoyment of your trip down memory lane. I was sorry to hear that your trip was for a sad family event.

Thank you for choosing to book directly, this ensures that guests get the best possible price available . I am sorry that you were too late for afternoon tea given your late arrival but I do hope that the homemade shortbread and tablet went a little way to making up for it.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House and I will look forward to welcoming you in the future , should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our daughter and son in law booked this lovely 5star guest house for a Christmas present.and five star rating is justified.Lovely house, beautiful surroundings and a gorgeous room, warm welcoming hosts and delicious fresh cooked breakfast. I would definitely recommend this

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daverooney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a the wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you both and to hear about your family and grand children. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the West Port and I do hope that you have enjoyed your birthday celebrations , today.

The biggest compliment is when guests wish to return….. thank you .

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Arden Country House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked into the Galloway room for 2 nights for a Valentine's day break. We were greeted with homemade scones, tablet, and brownies with tea on arrival, which was an amazing touch and made us feel very welcome. The land lady was very friendly and welcoming and gave us great advice on where to go in the town. The full house was immaculate and very well decorated. Our room was brilliant and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The shower was great as well. At breakfast Beth the land lady had laid out a single red rose for my girlfriend which I thought was amazing and a really nice personal touch. And the breakfast was top notch, a lovely selection of traditional and alternative food on the menu. All the little touches and Beth being so friendly and informative made it a great 2 nights stay and we will be looking to book back up in the summer. 10/10. Thank you so much for the lovely memories. Richard and Melanie.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the outstanding review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Arden Country House.

I was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and whilst the weather wasn't too kind, you certainly made the best of your time in Linlithgow.

I am so glad you liked the afternoon tea and home baking, this is a little extra we offer guests who book B&B directly with ourselves or though our website.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014 and I will look forward to seeing you when you have the time to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We booked all three rooms for the night before and the night of my son's wedding at the end of November 2013. Beth's attentiveness was second to none and she certainly impressed those in the party who had not stayed before. The afternoon tea on arrival was lovely and the breakfast was legendary.

All rooms are superbly furnished with absolutely everything you could possibly need.

This is more like a five star luxury hotel and very very good value for money

Margaret S

I would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to anyone who needs somewhere to stay because I am absolutely positive they would be as impressed as us.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is always a pleasure when guests wish to return and on this occasion it was extra special as it was for your son's wedding. Everyone was so friendly and it was a pleasure to meet everyone and to hear all about the wedding the next day.
Thank you so much for the gorgeous photograph of the bride and groom.

Wishing everyone a fantastic Christmas and a wonderful 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place is stunning. Views are amazing and in the heart of Scotland great base to travel anywhere. Me and my partner staying in the Morrison room and it was amazing. Sat nav for the postcode took me to a fisheries so do not follow it if your using one as I drove right past the place. Asked for a place to eat and was recommended quite a few with different types of food and prices. All places within 5 minutes drive from the B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedyB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you much. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay , the autumn colours this year are so pretty and you arrived in time to enjoy them in their full glory.

Our postcode covers over 2 miles and being in the country side there are few pedestrians to ask if you get lost. As you mentioned some GPS will take you to Bowden Fisheries which is the centre of the post code. The landmarks for us are the lodge cottage and large pillars with the B&B sign. Easy to miss though if your GPS is instructing you onwards.

Great to hear that you enjoyed Linlithgow, it is a great little town with many hidden gems.


Thank you for choosing to stay at Arden Country House and many thanks for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Overnighted here at the end of Oct 2013 when visiting rellies in Scotland. The MOST COMFORTABLE bed of our entire holiday in a very beautiful setting and just a run down the hill to Linlithgow and its restaurants. The breakfast was also sumptuous. Beth made us very welcome and her husband John crisped the brekky bacon to perfection. Linlithgow was a great town to wander around in with its historic palace and Loch. Loved it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get good directions or take a GPS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bj61, Owner at Arden Country House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I am so pleased to hear that you found the bed so comfortable. It was lovely to meet you both and I too am sorry that you only had one night with us, but your travels sounded most interesting …. you will just have to come back to Scotland one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
1.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
228 reviews
3.9 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
174 reviews
5.0 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
308 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
532 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Country House

Property: Arden Country House
Address: Belsyde, Linlithgow EH49 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arden Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award winning 5 star B&B set in peaceful, picturesque country setting yet only minutes from the historic town of Linlithgow, birth place of Mary Queen of Scotts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Arden Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Hotel Linlithgow
Arden Country House Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing