We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star & Garter Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great choice for our day out for 12 of us living across the Central Belt. Very warm welcome on arrival, Wide enough choice of dishes on the menu to keep everyone happy - and all beautifully cooked. 12 empty plates. And the service was great throughout - well done to the service manager, the kitchen staff and the waiting staff. Will definitely be going back for seconds !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

--- the Star could not be any better located for us "oldies" who now travel by train, 2 mins walk and your inside. Sun. afternoon was very busy lots of families, some tables seem too close to each other,Menu is good should suit most people, as always i opted for mac/cheese was tasty--bit dry tho' hardly any sauce,I did mention this and comments were appreciated, since it's new again I suppose they have to practice to get it right! our lovely little waitress didn't know much about Beer, since the first one we ordered was finished she went to find out what else there was.I did notice they were not to quick clearing empty glasses from tables-- but kept bringing more drinks! seating is very comfy in the bar area, Ladies loos are bright - but unfortunately no paper hand towels- although there is a dispenser, Decor is lovely,very comfy to sit in while waiting for the next train, we look forward to the summer days to visit and to try the Bistro which loosk very inviting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to the Star and garter for Sunday lunch. Should have picked a quieter day. Restaurant was mostly families and one screaming child. Food was disappointing not good enough to make us return. Interior decorating tastefully done only needs some wall pictures to finish. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Like a Phoenix from the ashes, the Star and Garter has been rebuilt, redesigned,well refurbished and finally reopened. First impressions are encouraging. Every member of the (newly recruited) staff was delightful and eager to please, even though this team have been together less than a couple of weeks. In the bar most tastes appear to have been anticipated, prices are reasonable and (other establishments please note) real ale is most certainly a feature, especially as a brew house is soon to emerge. Bar lighting is a bit harsh but this is easily remedied.
Our first meals in the restaurant, however bore the evidence of serious intent. All aspects of this experience were encouraging, from the elegant menus to the well appointed dining room. Considering the short time since their relaunch, food came out in decent time, well presented and seasoned,and a small problem was sorted out in the blinking of an eye.
All things considered, a brilliant effort and a most welcome readdition to the town.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Buster7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited the newly refurbished hotel on recommendation to catch up with old friends. Painters were still putting finishing touches to the outside and inside all is bright, clean and new. The staff were keen and attentive and anything they were unsure of was checked. We enjoyed a very nice meal with soup of the day, cullen skink, garlic mushrooms, a taste of haggis (to be recommended as a starter) sausage and mash and fish and chips being ordered by our table. The waiter and waitresses still need a little more training to make the service smooth but altogether we enjoyed the experience and will meet here again. The menu was varied but everything seemed to be freshly made and was tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank martini5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had our first night back in the Star and Garter since it has been refurbished.. We had a table for 7. The food was great. (Christmas Menu) generous portions, hot and well presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. We will be back for more. Well done and good luck!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynpennycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Got shown around the hotel and bedrooms. Refurbishment is excellent and great layout. Good selection of beers and whisky planned for opening night. Can't wait for it to open.
Come on the Star. Wishing you all the best!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linlithgow hotels
0.6 mi away
Westport Hotel
Westport Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Court Residence
Court Residence
#1 of 11 in Linlithgow
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arden Country House
Arden Country House
#3 of 11 in Linlithgow
171 reviews
0 mi away
B & B  Lumsdaine House
B & B Lumsdaine House
#5 of 11 in Linlithgow
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Garter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Garter Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Linlithgow EH49 7AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range: $73 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star & Garter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is located in Linlithgow, West Lothian, a historic Royal Burgh located in the central lowlands of Scotland. We're just 20 miles from Edinburgh and under an hour from Glasgow by train or car. Linlithgow is the birth place of Mary Queen of Scots and the Royal Palace by Linlithgow Loch is only minutes away. The town has many attractions and facilities for visitors - making Linlithgow a great base from which to explore Scotland. Excellent road and rail links offer all of our guests access to our wonderful cities and countrysides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Star & Garter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star & Garter Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing