We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star & Garter Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Linlithgow B&B and Inns
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to the Star and garter for Sunday lunch. Should have picked a quieter day. Restaurant was mostly families and one screaming child. Food was disappointing not good enough to make us return. Interior decorating tastefully done only needs some wall pictures to finish. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
31
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Like a Phoenix from the ashes, the Star and Garter has been rebuilt, redesigned,well refurbished and finally reopened. First impressions are encouraging. Every member of the (newly recruited) staff was delightful and eager to please, even though this team have been together less than a couple of weeks. In the bar most tastes appear to have been anticipated, prices are reasonable and (other establishments please note) real ale is most certainly a feature, especially as a brew house is soon to emerge. Bar lighting is a bit harsh but this is easily remedied.
Our first meals in the restaurant, however bore the evidence of serious intent. All aspects of this experience were encouraging, from the elegant menus to the well appointed dining room. Considering the short time since their relaunch, food came out in decent time, well presented and seasoned,and a small problem was sorted out in the blinking of an eye.
All things considered, a brilliant effort and a most welcome readdition to the town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buster7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited the newly refurbished hotel on recommendation to catch up with old friends. Painters were still putting finishing touches to the outside and inside all is bright, clean and new. The staff were keen and attentive and anything they were unsure of was checked. We enjoyed a very nice meal with soup of the day, cullen skink, garlic mushrooms, a taste of haggis (to be recommended as a starter) sausage and mash and fish and chips being ordered by our table. The waiter and waitresses still need a little more training to make the service smooth but altogether we enjoyed the experience and will meet here again. The menu was varied but everything seemed to be freshly made and was tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martini5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had our first night back in the Star and Garter since it has been refurbished.. We had a table for 7. The food was great. (Christmas Menu) generous portions, hot and well presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. We will be back for more. Well done and good luck!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynpennycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Got shown around the hotel and bedrooms. Refurbishment is excellent and great layout. Good selection of beers and whisky planned for opening night. Can't wait for it to open.
Come on the Star. Wishing you all the best!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
0.6 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
237 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
6.4 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
554 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Garter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Garter Hotel

Property: Star & Garter Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Linlithgow EH49 7AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star & Garter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is located in Linlithgow, West Lothian, a historic Royal Burgh located in the central lowlands of Scotland. We're just 20 miles from Edinburgh and under an hour from Glasgow by train or car. Linlithgow is the birth place of Mary Queen of Scots and the Royal Palace by Linlithgow Loch is only minutes away. The town has many attractions and facilities for visitors - making Linlithgow a great base from which to explore Scotland. Excellent road and rail links offer all of our guests access to our wonderful cities and countrysides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Star & Garter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star & Garter Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing