We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Champany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Champany Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in the UK”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Wonderful service, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, fantastic food in the Chop House - restaurant sounds fabulous. Best breakfast anywhere - cooked to order with great local produce

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    42
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
89
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The room was lovely and the large rose headed shower sublime, but the beds were far too shoft. We had dinner in the shop and ale house, both of us had their 18oz T-bone, medium rare. They are char grilled, cooked to perfection. Just a perfect introduction to their food. My one issue, which im sorry to say, was one of the waitresses was quite abrupt and her appearance was sloppy. Everything else was perfect.
Next time we will try the main restaurant but at £50 for a steak we will be waiting a while!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseyposey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This is our second visit to the Champany Inn, we were a little concerned after reading recent reviews but it was every bit as good as last time. We stayed for two nights over the Mothering weekend. We took my husbands Mother with us for what was her second visit as well. She celebrated her birthday on Mothers Day . The Inns owner was very attentive and made quite a fuss of my Mother in Law wishing her Happy Birthday and lighting a birthday candle for her. We ate in the main restaurant which is very elegant and you do have to have quite an appetite although they will pack what you cannot manage to eat for you to take home.
We must one again sing our praise for Paul as he was as helpful this time as he was on our last visit, the breakfast ladies were also very pleasant although the breakfast was a little greasy for our liking. If we have any complaint it would be that on the package we booked we were not given the small gin and whisky in our rooms which seemed a little petty. We did all in all enjoy our stay and will return. The inn has a friendly but polite manner which is rare now.

Room Tip: If you are not a big eater eat in the Chop House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The staff we courteous, very efficient, attentive and discreet at the same time.

The food was amazing, beautifully cooked and presented, the rooms lovely.

It made my special occasion even more special.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnegie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I spend quite a lot of time looking up restaurants in Edinburgh, I fly up quite often with work from London and always look for restaurants that have a city feel for dinner with my clients. After a lot of mediocre dinners and the same old, drinks afterwards in rowdy bars pretending to be upmarket, I decided that it would be fun to travel a little way out and find something more special where i could give my clients more of an evening. I found Champany Inn on here and read the reviews. I tried to book the restaurant but unfortunately for the evening I needed a table it was fully booked. However, they asked me if I would consider having dinner in the chop and beer house (I later found out it was chop and ale!) and after discussing it with the lady on the telephone, i decided that i would treat my clients to a night in the hotel next door so we didn't have to get a taxi back late. We arrived and were seated at a cosy table by the fire. I had one of the best burgers of my life and the chips were divine, i've been on a diet ever since because i had a second portion! After such a fun evening we sloped next door and fell on the sofas in the lobby, where we were joined by the proprieter - who was absolutely charming and after finding out the history of the place, my clients were American - we found our rooms, plushly deocrated and with all the comforts one would expect from this calibre of hotel, and went to sleep. The next day we were treated to a wonderful breakfast in the hotel before setting off on a long walk nearby, as directed by the charming proprieter - later returning to waiting taxis that took us back to the city. I could have stayed a week and will definitely be back for more of my client entertaining.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wellingtonbooties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay, from the warm greeting at reception to the amazingly comfortable beds and one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. I started with the prawns and pasta and of course a steak, which was perfectly cooked and came with delicious chips. Dessert was equally satisfying, the Champany Cheesecake - a must for anyone who loves Cheesecake. Staff were attentive and friendly and I really felt at home. I very rarely review hotels and restaurants, but feel the need to share Champany with everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgeouslydelicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Dinner first; (Main restaurant) Outstanding in every regard. Expensive, yes, the best is usually expensive.
Bed; Lovely bedrooms and very spacious bathrooms. Immaculate. Good value.
Breakfast; Excellent.
Dinner, B&B; Struggling to think of anywhere better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
218 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,799 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
9.6 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champany Inn

Property: Champany Inn
Address: Linlithgow EH49 7LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champany Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Champany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champany Hotel Linlithgow
Champany Inn Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing