We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfortable hotel and great welcoming service”
Review of West Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Port Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst attending Party at the Palace weekend locally. Ample parking at rear of hotel and was able to check in early around 2pm to let us get to our event. Came back later in evening for a drink before closing time and again staff friendly asking how our day had been. Breakfast was brilliant with a full range of cereals and juices and choices from a quality hot menu selection. Although the hotel is on the main road the traffic noise and closing time at the pub was not an issue. Only minor issue from scoring a maximum was the shower - it was the type that runs off the bath taps rather than plumbed in separate. As a result it was the opposite of a power shower and the temperature impossible to set right. Looks like there has been a recent refurbish of rooms so fixing of this would make it perfect.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Many thanks for your review of your stay here at The West Port.
It's great to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from arrival to departure, especially your comments as to how friendly the team are. I'm very proud of the guys who work here and will certainly share your comments.
Regarding your shower tap, we have since had a look at this and discovered the mixer valve needed replaced. This was done today and it now works perfectly, thanks for letting us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for West Port Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel and its staff made our stay in Scotland for the Commonwealth Games a real pleasure.
The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Interior decor is tasteful,clean and comfortable. The full Scottish breakfast is outstanding! Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us.
We're glad we were able to be part of your visit to Scotland for the Commonwealth games.
Great to read about your experiences of the service and, of course, our fab Scottish breakfast. Our guests are always overwhelmed by it. It's good to see we managed to share that with you too.
Hopefully we will see you back in Linlithgow sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

First a Potted History, using Culinary Terms:
There are slices of this delightful county town,and Royal Burgh, that grate: and these are the ones that we (nowadays) describe as "Brutalist", the kind that emerged from the rubble of ancient and harmonious buildings, for reasons that have never been properly explained, and done by latter day Berserkers, from the architectural field!
What were they thinking of, conjuring up these ugly edifices out of the sour doughs of concrete?
Anyway, no amount of lamentations stopped them, and Linlithgow has made as good a mess out of their unwelcomed pottage as they could: probably down to its inherent good grace.
Maybe something to do with the town's patron saint, St.Michael, who has the way of being "kinde to strangers."
Which brings me to the West Port Hotel, which certainly is.
Already, at just after nine thirty on this sunny morning, there was the kind of buzz from happy "bees" in a summer garden. I'm talking people, of course.
There are long and low ceilings in this old hostelry, as there are in so many in the town,and its tastefully decorated and well furnished.
Founded in 1790, I bethought myself to take a look at what was going on, in Scotland, in that far away year.
Flora Macdonald (a good friend to a Bonnie Prince) and Adam Smith (the political economist and moral philosopher) so admired by Gordon Brown both left the world; and the Forth and Clyde Canal was opened. Only four years previously Robbie Burns (I don't have to remind you about him) had published his "Poems, Chiefly in The Scottish Dialect( so beloved of Scottish politicians and gamekeepers, when in their cups.)
Wow! And The West Port Hotel, being built is such a sympathetic style that those Berserkers should bend their heads in shame.
I wonder who was the first to cross its threshold?
Anyway, when I did, I guess I had as good a welcome as they did.
This is the kind of place that has all you'll need, be it the Full Scottish Breakfast, an imaginative evening meal, or for an excellent coffee and cake (some delightful and colourful ones under a dome, on the bar) or if you're seeking comfortable accommodation.
Obviously, I liked the West Port;, and I love Linlithgow ( as does its community.)
Next time, I'm going on a walkabout, because there's SO much to explore in this lovely landscape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Many thanks for what is by far the most colourful and imaginative review we have ever had!
I really enjoyed reading about your visit to the town and am glad our little business was able to be part of what made it so enjoyable to you.
The town, and indeed our pub does have a long and interesting history and that is something we are acutely aware of. Indeed during our recent refurbishment we had the pleasure of selecting numerous pictures depicting the history of the town and its people for display around our walls.
Now of course we are looking to the future and ensuring The West Port remains a central part of the Linlithgow community for many years to come.
We only hope you can return again soon, this time not as a 'stranger' but as a friend. Like St Michael, we're just as 'kinde' to those!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just back after a really pleasant night in Linlithgow. The West Port is a nice old hotel that has been very sympathetically upgraded.We had a very comfortable room, a good dinner and a terrific breakfast, All supplied by a very cheerful and pleasant staff.All at a very good price.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thanks for the review of your stay at The West Port recently.
I'm glad to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay so much. It's also particularly good to receive such positive comments about the team members. They are what makes the business so successful so any recognition I can share with them is always greatly appreciated.
Hopefully you will get the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Staying over in Scotland on a budget is sometimes a challenge but this hotel did us proud. We booked rather late on a golfing break and were very pleased with what we found. We were welcomed in a very professional and friendly manner by all staff we encountered. Our room was clean and tidy with en suite facilities, all be it in a very small space. The hotel bar was excellent and offered a good range of meals and beers, the breakfast was also very good. There was ample parking to the rear. The only slight downside (apart from the very small bathroom) was the close proximity to the main road and whilst this caused us no problem you could hear traffic easily. One small tip for the hotel, (if they read this), clean up the cig ends from outside the upstairs passage window, they look awful.

Room Tip: Not easy really ....... being on a main road will give some noise level and if you take a rear view...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Many thanks for your review of your stay at our hotel.
It's great to receive such positive feedback about all aspects of our business. It's especially encouraging to read your positive comments about our team. They work tirelessly to give the best service they can to every guest so it's always great to be able to share such positive comments as yours.
We really hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I were attending a wedding in Linlithgow and stayed here for one night. From the moment we arrived we found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. We both had a very good night's sleep and thoroughly enjoyed a massive Full Scottish Breakfast the next morning.
Thank you to all the staff at the West Port for a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kcorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the West Port.
We're glad we were able to be part of your weekend whilst you visited for a wedding.
Glad you enjoyed our breakfast. It is a feast for sure!
Hopefully we will see you back again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Good attentive service. Well decorated and presented. Nice to see an old building kept up to date. Good selection of food, all cooked very well. Burger was awesome. Value for money. Bar staff very helpfull and knowledgeable on beer / ale selection. Will go again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Broos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent visit.
I'm glad you like our newly refurbished interior but even more glad to read how much you enjoyed your burger and our service. I hope you got a chance to sample our beer selection. If not there's always next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,958 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
544 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Hotel

Address: 18-20 West Port, Linlithgow EH49 7AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range: $84 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Port Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN after a major refurbishment...We are delighted with our transformation and are confident you will be too! Our new extended restaurant has a country inn feel and vibrant contemporary touches. With a fresh new menu, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service, the West Port is one of the best places to eat in Linlithgow.Perfectly situated just a 5 minute drive from the M9 and a 10 minuted walk from Linlithgow Train Station the West Port is a great place to be based to explore both historical Linlithgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Port Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing