We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub grub”
Review of West Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Port Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been 3 times since the refurbishment. Once for breakfast with 2 kids in tow; once for lunch and once for dinner on a Friday evening.

Each time the staff have been friendly and attentive and especially accomodating when we had the children with us.

The food is good pub grub. I had fish and chips on Friday and it was the best I have had in a while and at £8.95 not far off the price they are charging in the Golden Chip (chippie) along the road. My husband had ribeye, which was pretty pricey but they did manage to cook it how he likes it (rare).

We will be back very soon I imagine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoG26D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your most recent visit to The West Port. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, wow! Glad you have enjoyed the food and the service and thanks for your comments regarding the prices too. We try to offer great value on every dish we serve and we feel our 12oz, hand cut, aged rib eye served with all the sides included, represents a great offer. Our fish, of course, is a real favourite and at that price one of our most popular dishes. Let's hope we see you back in again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    74
    29
    22
    15
See reviews for
55
69
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polmont, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

£2.11 a half pint! I suppose they think they won't notice this being hidden in a gastro food pub bill. Poor quality of drinks, Try the 4 Marys for better drinks at 1/3 less price wise. Central Edinburgh is better Value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of your visit to the West Port. Thanks for your comments regarding our drinks prices. Based on the price you paid for this half pint it would have been one of our premium guest ales with a higher ABV. We bring in a variety of ales changing at least two of our lines every week. Clearly in order to give such a varied choice we have to buy ales a different prices but with our house beers starting from £2.85 per pint we feel we always offer great value.
I'm more concerned you felt your drinks were 'poor quality'. We recently achieved a perfect score from Cask Marque, the independent cask ale assessors. Rest assures if ever a guest has any issues with their drinks they will be exchanged without question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My mum and I decided to go here as it had not long been refurbished. We had heard good reviews through the grapevine since we are locals.
Quite disappointed to say the least.
When we entered the restaurant although the waitress was very welcoming and friendly, the service was very rehearsed and try hard. So much in fact that, when being shown to our table my mum stopped to say hi to someone she knew, I went on ahead and hadn't even sat down but the girl was trying to take our drinks order.
We ordered drinks then had to wait 20 minutes for them. We were ready to order food when the drinks came but the girl walked away befoe we could tell her. We then waited a further 40 minutes for our food. It was only a baked potato and a burger. It wasn't particularly busy this day but we did notice the table next to us came in after us, ordered after us and were served their meal and finished it before us. They also had time to send food back due to the quality when it arrived in front of them.
The food itself was average. It wasn't fancy but if youre in the area and looking for somewhere to dine The West Port Hotel is a nice place to stop as youre passing.
I dont think i'd hurry back due to the service and the wait for food though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The West Port. I was sorry to hear you feel the service was not up to scratch and that you had to wait a while for your meals. We have never claimed to offer fast food, just well cooked, home-made food served as quickly as we can, but it seems on your visit we kept you waiting a bit too long.
We really hope you will give us another try next time you visit Linlithgow as I'm sure you will find your past experience does not reflect our usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having been disappointed by the new breakfast menu I still wanted to give the West Port a chance. So I called to book a table for a birthday lunch requesting a Booth Table. The girl I spoke with was happy to take the booking but said she could not promise we could have that type of table ( I called in the morning to try to ensure this ) . We did get the table I'd asked for- the place was very busy but we were seated quickly. Our waitress had a badge on stating she was ''Training' but she did a very good job- I still feel a nice touch would have been to have her name on it so that way we could have given feedback on how well she did as this is very important to give a person encouragement when they are learning a new skill. The Lunch was lovely (2 courses £8.95 ) the fish was piping hot and cooked perfectly and the vanilla cheesecake was yummy. Hope to return soon .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks you for your review of your lunch at The West Port. We're really happy we were able to help you enjoy your Birthday celebrations. Thanks for your comments regarding our team members. In the first 2 weeks our team wear a 'training badge' as it takes a few days to get bespoke ones made and delivered but if they are receiving such positive comments in their first few days then we're confident they will continue to look after our guests as we expect. See you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Not familiar with Linlithgow and approach from rear car park was with some trepidation but once within the pleasant 'Gastro pub' surroundings, the extremely pleasant staff got me booked in and whisked to my room very efficiently.
Nice big room, comfortable, everything worked, nothing amiss.
Would stay again if i could get booked in but seems very popular

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spragman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at The West Port. we're glad you enjoyed your visit and the service was up to scratch for you. Hopefully next time you are in Linlithgow you'll pop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in last week for an earl dinner. Nothing booked, walked straight in early evening, got greeted and seated in a booth and had a delicious burger served with the best chips! My son had the kids fish and chips and loved it! Service was spot in and all staff really really pleasant. We shall be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for your positive review of the new West Port. we're real glad you enjoyed your visit. It's great you enjoyed your burger and chips so much and even more so that your son loved his fish and chips! See you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived here at 6.30 on a Sunday evening. As you enter, there are no signs at all telling you how to check in or where reception is. We went to the bar and despite the fact that at one point there were SIX staff behind the bar, no-one paid any attention to us. So there we were, standing for 10 minutes in our jackets with a suitcase, being ignored. I eventually demanded service and was issued with a room once the barman could find the paperwork. We then settled into the room which was a little small, but perfectly clean and serviceable with a very comfy bed and a nice hot shower. We decided to go down and have dinner in the restaurant. The female maitre'd asked us to take a seat and she would come over with menus. We sat there for 15 minutes and eventually, she walked by as my wife caught her eye (we were getting up to leave) and she said "Oh sorry, I forgot about you didnt I?". Well, we then had a nice meal and the stay continued without incident. The next morning we had breakfast, the cooked breakfast was pretty cold by the time it arrived, but was still edible.
All in all, a bit of a mixed bag, some very good points like the value, the cleanliness of the room and the comfy bed. Unfortunately these were offset by the very poor service from the staff.
One other point to note is that the stairs up to the room are next to the kitchen - this leaves the stairs and carpets at the top and bottom of the staircase covered with a layer of fat/oil residue - pretty dangerous when coming down the stairs - a better kitchen extraction/filter system is needed in the kitchens in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kugaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPortLinlithgow, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for such a detailed review of your visit to our hotel and restaurant. I can assure you we will look at all of your points, particularly your concerns, as it is only due to great feedback like this that we can improve. We are glad you liked the bedrooms, these were refurbished during our closure too. Hopefully on your return you will see a marked improvement on your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linlithgow
2.3 mi away
Champany Inn
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
4.8 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Port Hotel

Property: West Port Hotel
Address: 18-20 West Port, Linlithgow EH49 7AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Linlithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Linlithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Port Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN after a major refurbishment...We are delighted with our transformation and are confident you will be too! Our new extended restaurant has a country inn feel and vibrant contemporary touches. With a fresh new menu, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service, the West Port is one of the best places to eat in Linlithgow.Perfectly situated just a 5 minute drive from the M9 and a 10 minuted walk from Linlithgow Train Station the West Port is a great place to be based to explore both historical Linlithgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your West Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Port Hotel Linlithgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing