We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time back in a long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chop & Ale House

Chop & Ale House
Ranked #15 of 42 Restaurants in Linlithgow
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time back in a long time”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went back here after many years away and was not disappointed. My new partner thought it was great. Lovely setting. Very attentive staff and mouth watering food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    72
    58
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
livingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best steak”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went here for lunch and it was beautiful. Had the soup to start and was the best i have ever tasted. The steak is by far the best steak i have ever eaten, it is a bit expensive for lunch but well worth it for a treat.Lovely location and very quaint little restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linlin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time visiting this steak house, we arrived without a booking and only had to wait 15mins for a table, decided on a sirloin steak this time and wasn't disappointed, cooked beautifully and served with proper hand cut chips.
Some might say a little expensive, but you get what u pay for, I only wish that they would add Filet steak to the menu.
We will be going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
756 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
“Chop & One Ale House”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It recently having been my 60th Birthday, Karen’s Birthday and our Wedding Anniversary in quick succession, we decided to go somewhere a bit special for dinner. Over the years several friends have told us that we must try the Chop and Ale House or Restaurant at Champany as they comprise one of the best eating venues in West Lothian.

We saw from the website that you cannot book a table in the Chop and Ale House so we went early and were in luck, there was a table for two free. The dining room has a bit of rustic charm to it and looks as though it is trying to impart an Olde World image. However it didn’t really work in our opinion. The room is full of a variety of old, possibly antique, acquisitions with no apparent theme, and the tables are very close together, so as a consequence the overall impression is of an untidy and cluttered rural cottage from yesteryear. In keeping with the image that the management are trying to project the waitresses wear a sort of Lipton’s tea room apron over their 21st Century black T shirts and trousers. No it doesn’t really work although the service was very good.

So to the meal. We both selected a starter and burger from the menu, the range of 16 - 20 oz steaks at about £22 each seemed a bit excessive both in quantity and price. We would have thought that 10-12 oz steaks at about £12-£14 would be more appropriate but this is what they charge for their burgers. When it came to ordering drinks I was astounded to hear that an ‘Ale House’ only had one ale on offer, which I had, along with one lager. Apparently they don’t have the room to store any more! Karen took a glass of the house red. Let’s just say that there is much better wine available elsewhere these days.

The starters were OK but did not look terribly appetising when delivered because of the outdated 1970’s brown crockery used. We were also allowed a slice of bread and a portion of butter from a basket that was brought round. The quality of the starters did not live up to the price charged. Prawn cocktail with more sauce than prawns, and chicken liver pate with an unexciting salad accompaniment. As an example of how tired the crockery has become when I lifted up the pepper pot the plastic stopper fell out the bottom and there was pepper everywhere!

Moving on to the main course where we had heard so much about the wonderful tasty burgers we found them to be bland, bland, bland! The accompanying bowl of chips comprised a few decent sized chips while the bulk of the remainder was small greasy scraps cut from the outside of the potatoes. For the price charged I thought we might have got hand cut chips. And the salad, surely they could have sourced ripe tomatoes rather than the insipid tasteless examples on offer. While Karen took a plain burger I took the Champany Burger at about £4 more with a variety of toppings; at least the bacon was nice. However the blue cheese dressing dripped out and then we learned that the napkins were another throwback to the 1970’s – polyester, useless for mopping up spills. I kept on thinking of the King’s Wark in Leith and the wonderful burgers, hand made chips and salad that they do for a good lot less. We have just had a couple of good days weatherwise and had a barbeque in the garden yesterday. The supermarket burgers we ate had so much more taste that those at the Chop and Ale House so we cannot understand why such a poor product is on offer given all the claims about them being made from offcuts of the prime beef available in the Chop and Ale House and adjoining Restaurant.

On leaving we noticed an award on display that had been won in the 1990’s, perhaps that said it all! Maybe time to call in the Channel 5 TV Restaurant Inspector to put this establishment back on the right track.

Our final observation was the menu for the adjoining restaurant. Main courses at around £40 per head! Now we realised why none of the prices in both establishments are advertised on their website.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chop & Ale House”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have visited this place a number of times and always found the food to be of excellent quality. - If you enjoy a good steak, this is the place to visit.

The Chop & Ale House is great for a relaxed meal and, aside from steak, I would recommend their burger with blue cheese sauce and home made fries! (You can't reserve a table in the Chop & Ale House, so depending what time you visit you may have to wait a while.)

I have visited the main restaurant a few times. It is very expensive, but a lovely experience.

There is also a Wine Shop - I would recommend the house red wine - inexpensive, but it is one of my favourites.

http://www.champany.com/

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex5Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop & Ale House also viewed

Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Chop & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing