We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant.”
Review of One Up Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

One Up Indian Cuisine
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: European, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family run indian restraunt in the heart of Dumbarton town centre. We are situated on the 1st floor which makes us a little harder to find, that is why our customers say we're a hidden gem! Some history on the building - before Oneup it had been a few restraunts but most of Dumbarton will remember it as the old City Bakers.We have the room to accommodate up to 150ppl, with a small lounge for meetings. We are a licensed restraunt and serve buffet & a la carte, along with lunch & takeaways.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We used to visit an Indian restaurant in Helensburgh and everyone raved about how good it was and we had been satisfied with it Right up until we visited One Up in Dumbarton, this one takes cuisine and ambience to a whole new level.

The food is consistently good and is always cooked to order, not like many that have a huge pot pre-prepared. Because it is cooked fresh you may have a couple of minutes extra to wait, but it is well worth the wait.

They have recently started running theme nights, we went to the drag show night £25.00 per head with a four course buffet and five free drinks included, with excellent entertainment. All in all, a brilliant night out.

I have even started taking clients there for business dinners, I wouldn't do that if it is not top notch.

Try it, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BikerBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Owner at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are glad you gave our restraunt a try & enjoyed it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
OneUp Dumbarton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here on many occasions over the last few years after being a loyal customer in another Dumbarton Indian for a decade prior.
The staff are always friendly and welcoming, the meal offers are very generous (£22 for a buffet and 4 drinks for a couple and £25 for a buffet, 5 drinks and a show on their special evenings!)
The food is always cooked fresh on the buffet counter and I would, if I'm being honest, say the only downside are the desserts which could have a greater choice or include ice cream (i.e. like a whippy machine or the likes). Other than that I have no complaints at all and have enjoyed the numerous meals I have had in OneUp!
Best chicken pakora in west Dunbartonshire by a long way!
I really don't understand why more locals don't use this place as it definetly deserves its number 1 spot on Dumbartons restaurants here on Trip Advisor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SailorJack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Owner at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Also thank you on the feedback about our desert cart, it has been noted and we will be looking to introduce more choice, we have ice-cream available and I apologise if staff did not offer this to yourself, staff training is also on the agenda.
Many thanks OneUp Dumbarton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited one up last week and it was beautiful. The service was great and the food was amazing. Best idian food i have had by far and i have tried many different places all over the uk. I will definately be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alistair1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Owner at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again.
Many Thanks OneUp Dumbarton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visiting from US, staying at nearby Cameron House on Loch Lomond. Found One Up on Trip Advisor and took a chance. Wow! Superb flavor. Every dish the four of us ordered off the generous menu was incredibly rich and deep with all the spices we love about Indian. Locals are fortunate to not have to travel across the Atlantic as we did for such a tremendous food experience. We were quite pleased with the bill when it arrived. We would have expected to pay more in the States for food like this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Apopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneUp_61, Owner at One Up Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your Review! I am extremely pleased you tried our restraunt and enjoyed it! We hope to see you again next time you are visiting!
Many Thanks Oneup Dumbarton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

good food at a reasonable price , they also do theme nights ,buffet as well as a la carte menus
if you go for a carry out they usually give you soe pakoras as a wee nibble while you wait nice touch
if you like spicy try the south indian garlic chilli chichhen

Thank skullz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Up Indian Cuisine also viewed

Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing