We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, friendly, tasty, pet friendly”

The Coach House Inn
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Dumbarton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy, friendly, tasty, pet friendly”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight on our way to Skye. It's a great stop over location just north of Glasgow with loch lomond on your doorstep. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and were offered a table to be reserved for dinner. Our room was large and airy, clean and comfy with nice ensuite facilities -shower and a bath. Dinner was delicious and a good price. The locals and staff were very friendly and directed us to a nearby park so we could walk our dog. The full Scottish breakfast was amazing but be warned.....it's huge. Half size portions would still have been a big plateful. Excellent value for money,well situated, clean, comfy, and dog friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weavingprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pet friendly”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Trying to find a pet friendly establishment can be hit and miss. We were delighted with The Coach House Inn. Our dog was allowed in the bedroom and allowed in the dining room for breakfast. For evening dinner we were permitted into the bar where a table was reserved, despite being very busy. Sampled the mixed grill (very big) and the haggis (well it is Scotland). We were not disappointed. Breakfast can be recommended and very filling - the black pudding is to die for. There is even a dog walk on the door step.
Will be arriving again in a couple of weeks to collect a puppy from a local breeder. Absolutely recommended. Thank you Yvonne & Co.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We eat at the coach house on a fairly regular basis, for family birthdays and other special occasions. They have a good range of meals on their menu, cater for vegetarians, a good kids menu too. The portion sizes are fantastic, you really feel you are getting value for money. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2223Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and pretty good value too!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to the Coach House for Mothers Day, having found it on this website. Have to say that the welcome was superb, with a very friendly staff. We were shown to our table, which had been prepared (we had booked).
On the food, the lamb shank was excellent & cheesecake typically rich. It was a set menu so would be interesting to see what the full would be.
Only 2 issues - seemed a bit cramped, although I've seen worse, and the real ales are just two, neither of which are very good.
We will be back though, see what the full menu is like.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“traditional inn, superb value lunch!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My daughter and I had enjoyed a brisk walk along Helensburgh and were well ready for some fish and chips!..we had passed by the coach house inn on the way there so thought that it would be perfect for some pub grub :)

We ate in the conservatory..which was fine..they actually had a lovely real fire in the main bar but just an electric log effect fire in the conservatory..service was very good..we decided to go for the 2 courses for 7.95...seemed very good value so to be honest was not expecting anything special.

However, we had a lovely, tasty plate of fish and chips, with peas..we were pretty full after that..but still room for wee bit of pudding..again, thought it might just be a wee sliver of apple pie and chocolate fudge cake..but they were both generous servings..I had a lovely piece of heated french apple tart with fresh cream and my daughter had the hot chocolate fudge cake with ice cream..it wasnt expensive ice cream but still lovely.

All in all very impressed with service, food and value for money :) Would definitely recommend people to stop by for lunch :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House Inn also viewed

Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing