We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent two nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Dumbarton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent two nighter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

An exceedingly clean and well appointed Travelodge. Easy access to North and South of Scotland. Garage on doorstep and across the (busy) main road a pub The Stonehouse Crown which sells the most delicious all you can eat Carvery for under a fiver. Breakfast under four quid. Coffee is an extra though. Excellent location, with ample car parking both front and rear. Costa Coffee & Little Chef directly in front of lodge. No noise from main road.

Room Tip: Room 30 faces front. good for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    66
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
68
61
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kintore, Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Haven't stayed at a Travelodge for some time after staying in the Travelodge in Central Glasgow which was appalling. As we couldn't find any availability at a Premier Inn it was a last resort. Well surprised what we found. It was clean and tidy. The room was excellent. As always the staff were friendly and helpful. It isn't all goods news - it's located behind a filling station and Starbucks and quite difficult to spot. We missed it first time round coming from the Glasgow direction. No food or drink available at the hotel. However there is a Crown Carvery opposite. We used this for both breakfast and evening meals. Reasonably priced and generally ok as long as fine dining is what you're looking for. Breakfast was probably the better of the meals. Both were reasonably priced. Downside was having to cross a busy dual carriageway around 6.00 pm on a Friday night. It wasn't quite so bad during the rest of the weekend. Would stay here again, the traffic noise wasn't too bad. Railway behind the hotel but wasn't an issue in terms of noise.

Room Tip: Depends on your state of health - two storey with no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Short 3 night break, stayed in the Travelodge Dumbarton. Very quiet, free parking, next to Starbucks and a Crown Carvery across the road. Great spot for touring. Staff really pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 22 which had had secondary double glazing fitted to keep the train noise to a minimum. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in nearby Clydebank. I stayed for 2 nights at the end of March. The hotel was just finishing a major renovation. The room I was in was brand new, and was a joy to stay in. The bed was so comfy I could hardly get up the next day! There is no lift in the hotel and I did have to drag my case up some stairs. It was fine though and I managed, but I just didn't read that there was no lift. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would stay here again, especially now that the rooms are all sparkly and new. The only thing is that the train station is quite a walk, so I just walked across the road and got the bus instead. It's also right next to a Starbucks, which was nice to be able to go and get a coffee. There's also a Wetherspoons place right across the road, so that is handy too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppets1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.2 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
14.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dumbarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dumbarton

Property: Travelodge Dumbarton
Address: A82 Stirling Road, Milton, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2TZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Dumbarton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Dumbarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dumbarton Hotel Dumbarton
Travel Lodge Dumbarton
Dumbarton Travel Lodge
Dumbarton Travelodge
Travelodge Dumbarton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing