We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food friendly bar”

The Glencairn Lounge
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A family run business based in the historical town of Dumbarton providing a variety of main meals, snacks and beverages and a variety of daily specials with prices to suit everyone.
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food friendly bar”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really like this bar for food. I was working in it as a bonus and decided to have my lunch while their. Always a good decision for bar food. Opted for the Lasagne which came very quickly and was the perfect portion for lunch. The flavour was awesome and really made my day. I cannot say how good it was as there are no words good enough to use for my meal that day. I have eaten there before on several occasions but the lasagne will become almost a given on future visits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    68
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff,prices,food. What more can u ask for?”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'm shocked 2 read some reviews on here!. I have nvr found it dirty, far from actually! The food is better than normal pub grub & if u complin at the prices for what you get....I think your just needing to go eles where. The staff go out there way for you and my only complant is getting the seat on the slope... Now if thats all the negitives I can give & I am a fuss pot...then I think they are doing well. P.s no one has mentiond the amiunt of charity giving this place does. Credit were its due!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hyphen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Unfussy food. Bursting level portions. Prompt service. Great value for money.

Do i need to go on ?
Family run pub who know how to treat hard pressed punters

Dont take my word for it. Mmmmm omg that steak pie. Opps sorry

Go try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Always A friendly vibe in this place”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food is Great fresh and home cooked, the staff are great and the pub just has warm hearty feel to it :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SucataRallyBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best value for money at the glencairn”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

was there last sat. with husband and son waited for about 10 min. for a table as it was really busy but always worth waiting for i would stand an hour waiting as the food is brill portions are huge get your moneys worth i always get the steak pie which was plentiful and very tender the best ive eaten anywhere staff were lovely and very attentive i would highly reccomend x

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glencairn Lounge also viewed

Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Glencairn Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing