We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for base while visiting area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dumbuck House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok for base while visiting area”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice size double room with ensuite & large TV if thats what you want Decorated in the Bistro style & a little bit dark for me but clean and modernised .We didnt eat in restaurant .Staff were pleasent enough but just going through the paces I suspect.
Positioned on main road to Glasgow & less than 10 miles to Loch Lomond so great as a base for the surounding areas
Dumbarton itself is quite grey but some interesting architecture if you look round and nice riverside walks near the R Leven and on Clyde mud flats when tide out The surprising find was the castle itself ,doesnt look much from the town but well worth the effort of walking up to its twin peaks for fabulous view along the Clyde in both dirrections. However dont miss the Fish & Chips @£3 a delicious bargain.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    57
    50
    32
See reviews for
107
144
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went with friends after purchasing a groupon voucher, which turned out to be a con may I add, they dramatically cut the available options and gave mostly lower priced lunch menu options for the deal.
The chicken satay starter was tiny and the chicken was over cooked. Hand dived scallops looked anorexic, they were tiny! I complained about the available options and managed to get them to cook me something from the usual a la cart menu for my main meal, cod on mustard champ with a poached egg, it was served up cold with a solid yolked egg on top that you could have bounced across the room. Two of my friends had a steak pie with veg and chips again it came out cold. My friends daughter had the abedeen angus burger it was a fair size of burger but it looked very dry to me also was a measly looking bit of floppy lettuce on it served up on a dirty looking wooden platter.
Toilet facilities looked new but were dirty. A member of the kitchen staff was coming out of the disabled loo when i went which is something else that gets up my nose. Carpet in the dining area was covered in bits of food. We were the only people in there, they weren't busy! Waitress was sweet but was permanently sniffing snotters back up her nose. Witnessed the waitress taking two large glasses of what looked like beer into the kitchen, i'm guessing for the chefs, not very professional at all. Manager looked pretty miserable and was pants at appeasing unhappy customers. Won't be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumbarton hotels

glasgow scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

went with family with a groupon voucher, the staff were very friendly but the food was not good at all. the starter of stuffed mushrooms was o.k but the mains badly let the meal down. partners chicken fajitas were far too hot and she could hardly eat them,,,way toooooooo much chilli. my fish and chips was very greasy and certainly not the best fish and chips i have had. dont think we would return, the waitress was very nice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank great_white_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

stayed here over night for a lil break with my partner, fantastic welcoming relaxed enviroment from the moment we arrived.
room on the small side , but spotlessly clean .
hallway did make me feel a little drunk as it was a little dark and flooring seemed to slant !
had a friday night steak deal that the waitor suggested 2 mature steaks and a bottle of wine for £30
asked for medium rare stake., was cooked perfectly and mature steak was as descriped and full of flavour, and very yummy homemade hadn cut chips.
couldnt fault the service and staff through out the whole stay, 5 star service fantastic staff personalitys.
even ended up joining some staff for drinks at the bar.
woke up a little early for breakfast as had to rush out a little hungover for work, chef / morning staff kindly got him to make me a bakon roll to take away, which was buttery and packed full with a mixture of crispy and jucy bacon.. started my hungover day off perfectly.
actually checked to see if hotel was avaliable to stay for another night as we enjoyed our stay soo much.

i will admit after reading bad reviews on here i was a little aprehansive about my stay here.

the bed was very comfy, heating in rooms easily adjustable.
5 star service, great food... will be back

ignore the bad reviews give this place a try and the room prices are a bargin.

my best friend has booked her wedding here in august 2013 ... cant wait :)

Room Tip: bargin price, fantastic resturant, perfect service, friendly staff, extreamly clean and accomidating
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaberdeen_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Would certainly recommend Dumbuck Hotel to everyone. We had a Surprise Birthday Lunch in the Lomond Suite, ideal for small groups. Food excellent, service excellent, staff did everything to please. Ideal venue. Would certainly use it again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just home from a 3 course meal in the restaurant, food was really really good. Very well presented and everything tasted delicious. Staff were very friendly and accomodating, and service was quick and efficient. Will definitely be back again. Compliments to the kitchen staff!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited the Dumbuck Hotel for a family/birthday meal, thought due to the recent troubles it would be worth a try, having visited most places in the area........not impressed, service poor, when we complained later, management just not interested...bad experience all round...would certainly never visit it again, plenty other places offering better experiences......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osram49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.8 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
9.3 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dumbuck House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dumbuck House Hotel

Property: The Dumbuck House Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road | West Dunbartonshire, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dumbuck House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six miles from the shores of Loch Lomond and 20 minutes from the heart of Glasgow, The Dumbuck House Hotel is ideally located to suit guests looking to sample the best aspects of Scotland's most popular attractions. Steeped in history but with a contemporary touch, The Dumbuck boasts 19 en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and bar, a large 200-seat capacity function hall and a smaller function hall and new outside patio area. At our family-run 18th century house hotel, the emphasis is always to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and cared for. Our restaurant serves fresh, homemade food at family-friendly prices and we've pulled on the bountiful Scottish larder to showcase some of the amazing ingredients on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you to The Dumbuck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Dumbuck House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumbuck Hotel Dumbarton
The Dumbuck House Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing