We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better and had worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for dinner here yesterday. Was shown to my table by a friendly chap who I think might have been the manager or head waiter and everything looked quite cosy with a little candle lit on each table which I thought was a nice touch. I was then informed of the nights special Thai curry and soup of the day which was Butternut squash. Decided to go for the a la carte menu instead I chose the chicken liver pate with salad and onion marmalade to start which to be honest was very average and the onion marmalade tasted very much like red jelly you make out of a packet and of which no onion could be tasted. I then had the carbonara with fusilli pasta for my main which again was very average and also the addition of the supposed "enhancing" onion, mushroom, white wine and cream just wasnt needed and didnt really enhance anything. The sticky toffee pudding was ok although I felt the amount of cream I got was quite sparce in relation to the size of the pudding and I prefer to get a jug of cream to pour rather than it being pre whipped. Service was pleasant. Title pretty much sums it up. Cant rate the rooms as I didnt stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Whilst not staying overnight in this property we decided to stop off, as it is next to the main road from Glasgow, the manager was very welcoming saying there was a 20 min wait on tables but we barely had sat down when we were invited to come and be seated for a meal. The first waitress was very charming and helpful, giving us plenty of time to decide what we wanted, the restuarant was busy,but nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The meal was freshly made, and well worth waiting for, the second waitress was just as pleasant and attentive. Three courses for three people with five soft drinks came to £62. Will most certainly return here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewm0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

it was a clean hotel and on the main road to Glasgow. Nice compact rooms and good restaurant and bar, friendly staff, free parking. The hotel is located south end of Loch Lomond on the main road from the highlands into Glasgow
No internet in rooms at the location we were at

Room Tip: Closer to the reception may have internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesyoung2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently held our family engagement lunch at the hotel and i cannot fault it in any way.
Everything was excellent ... everyone had something different to eat from our menu and everyone agreed that the food was yummy, well presented and plenty of it !!!
Staff were 2nd to none, nothing was a bother to them - very attentive and not once did we feel we were being rushed, which is the case in a lot of places when its busy.
I honestly cannot recommend this highly enough.
If your looking for good food, great service and reasonable prices, then this hotel is a must.
Dont just take my word for it, try it and see, i guarantee you wont be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend as my partner was doing the great Scottish swim in Loch Lomond. We had a family room, two separate bedrooms with their own ensuites which was great. Our 10 year old loved the novelty of his own room and bathroom. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful, our little one got bags full of bread to feed the ducks each morning. Breakfast is decent, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and a whatever you fancied from the cooked selection. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, food ok, I had a nice steak and salad and the other two had macaroni cheese and chips all traditional Scottish fare. Rooms are clean and did the job, only downside is that the hotel sits on the very busy A82 so we heard the traffic throughout the night, so if you are a light sleeper take earplugs, all in all a decent family hotel, clean, friendly and great from getting to the beautiful scenery of Loch Lomond

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel as there seemed to be little else available in the right place at a sensible price. We were impressed with the friendliness anf helpfulness of the staff. The room was good for the price. The breakfast was a bargain and cooked very well. The barfood was good and reasonably priced. All in all a good place to stopover. The noise in the corridor does carry into the rooms though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here on our way up to Fort William. This was virtually the only decently priced hotel to be found in the area- I appreciate that this is the peak time but some hotels and in particular soul-less hotel chains really take the piss when it comes to one off stop-over journeys. We found this hotel by Google-ing towns along the route. The website was attractive but a little confusing- at one point we were ordering 4 breakfasts per person due to its confusing lay out! The hotel is itself is good- well placed for those making journeys up the A82 to the Highlands or Western Isles and is made attractive with lovely hanging baskets and pots on the the terrace as you enter. We had a lovely warm welcome from Karen the receptionist and all the staff were lovely. Our rooms were clean and all you would need for a stop-off, clean towels, warm shower (though this could be a little more powerful), wifi in the room and excellent biscuits!
Breakfast was plentiful and well-cooked. We also ate in the restaurant, wine and steaks were good and well-priced.
Our only negative point would be the slightly too thin party walls. We had a very noisy family next to us who made so much noise they kept us awake and woke up the children. No fault of the hotel of course but better sound-proofing would be better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.4 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
222 reviews
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.3 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range: $84 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing