We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Clydebank, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Place!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I recently booked tables within the Abbotsford restaurant for a special family occasion. The food and service was fantastic. The staff made a real fuss of my daughter as it was her special day, and couldn't have been any more attentive to the rest of the guests.
The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and we had the most amazing day.
We eat at the Abbotsford regularly and they never let us down.
So thank you to all the staff at the Abbotsford for a wonderful day! We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Excellent food and a great friendly service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    72
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
54
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

As I live local, the Abbotsford Hotel is a favorite Destination for something to Eat, the menu has a good selection and the prices are spot on, the staff are always fantastic and always look after us.
I would highly recommend this place for something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by someone else and when I turned up I have to say that, from the outside, it didn't look much. The corridor down to my room was dated, but the room was as good as any Holiday Inn. The pub and staff, food and drink however, were brilliant and made my stay very good indeed. They couldn't have been more attentive, the service was as fast as anywhere and the quality was very good indeed - portion sizes were like everywhere in Scotland, generous!

If I was in the area again, I'd certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenland, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I recently stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel for five days with a group of sixteen people and was very impressed with the staff and facilities.

The staff, particularly James and Karen, was always very accommodating and willing to help. James was very knowledgeable and had answers for all of our questions whether it was about local attractions or how to get somewhere. He even had the staff come in early one day so we could get a hot breakfast an hour earlier than they normally start serving. Karen and James were quick with a smile and Karen even let us check on our flights on her computer prior to our departure.

The facilities were immaculate and comfortable and they had everything I needed for a pleasant stay. The restaurant had delicious food, in fact, we ate breakfast and dinner there (and lunch when we weren’t out visiting other cities) every day of our stay…it was so good (favorites include the peppered salmon, chicken carbonara and the toffee crunch pie). The pub was roomy and was a comfortable place to stay and have a drink and a conversation or watch football on one of several large flat screen televisions.

Again, I was impressed during our stay but if there was one thing that made it, it would be the staff. Thank you so much (especially James and Karen).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had a medium sized group staying for the week and several times we asked for special accomodations (dining, social event, etc.) which were supported graciously and without hesitation. The family and staff running this place made us feel welcomed. The rooms were very comfortable and the meals were excellent. We have placed this location on our approval list for future stays.

Room Tip: All the rooms were similar and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The accommodations and staff here at the abbots ford set the bar for international travel to Scotland. We had a large group with multiple requests ranging from room, food and drink requirements and James and his staff took care of everyone of them. If you travel to Scotland, abbots ford is a great place to stay! Thanks again to James and the abbots ford staff!

Jason

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty97e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stopped by chance while visiting my son ,best hotel locally and the service and food were unbeleivable all mod cons tea coffee.On the edge of Loch Lomond 2 seconds on road to loch

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatlinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
19.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
18.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Property: The Abbotsford Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing