We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy - but no ensuite in our room”
Review of Kilmalid House

Kilmalid House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumbarton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmalid House
Ranked #2 of 3 Dumbarton B&B and Inns
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and cozy - but no ensuite in our room”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night here. Ronnie and Morag and their dog Millie were most welcoming. The room was cozy, with 2 beds, though no ensuite. Breakfast reasonable. Good location, 15 min direct to Glasgow airport.

Room Tip: I would request the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixstoriesBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Ronnie and Morag couldn't have been more welcoming, when we arrived 3 hours after our anticipated arrival.

Our rooms were exceptionally clean and, whilst we weren't en suite, the bathroom was clean and spacious.

Breakfast in the morning was a treat, full Scottish with all the trimmings and plentiful refills of toast & tea and coffee.

The prices are very reasonable and reflective of the 3 star accommodation. (Some older reviews appear to expect 5 star luxury at 3 star prices which is totally unreasonable), I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandymonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacy, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice and central location to exploring Loch Lomond and surrounds. Morgan and Ronnie looked after us really well. Room was nice and cosy with extra heater supplied. Millie the dog was just beautiful. Plus we were able to park off road and walk to the local pub for night meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bon17m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Morag and Ronnie..... Make you feel very welcome. They go out of there way to make your stay a happy and comfortable one. We stayed with them for 5 nights, we would recommend them to friends and family any time. The views from the house are beautiful. We would go back anytime...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cherita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the sixth B&B in as many days motorcycling around Scotland. We arrived late off the cuff so to speak and were delighted by the reception from Ronnie and his wife. The best nights sleep I had had all week and my brother-in-law and I were well impressed. We had on suite facilities for a small additional fee. Its nice that we had a choice had we been on a budget I reckon! We had plenty of towels. In no other B&B have I had complimentary Chunky KitKat and club biscuits with the tea making kit in the room :-) Quality breakfast, absolutely no compaints in that department. I think some people expect the ritz at B&B prices, they need to get real.

Was off the main road so very very quiet but in an elivated position for fantastic views across the water.

Highly recommended at the price we paid. Best of the week thanks very much. We will be back next year on route to West Coast again!

Steve and Ian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

great place. Very friendly owners - Ronnie and his wife. Very helpful. Great room with very comfortable double bed and en suite. Loved our stay. Came from Milton Keynes to stay over for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentle344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at this B + B last July 2011 and when we left didnt write a review because,to be honest. we really didnt know where to start - it was that difficult and such an overall bad experience on a number of levels ! What has prompted me now is that a friend asked me for advice on where to recommend in the Dunbarton area and i thought again about Kilmalid Lodge.Having read the current reviews on trip adviser they all sum up our experience exactly - for eg, the web site very different to the actual experience,rooms and breakfasts poor,host at the breakfast --sitting looking as you whilst you ate and trying to engage in conversations that were not welcolme - if only had the wit to notice but didnt appear to ! Those are just a few issues i have time to write about at the moment.Its a real shame because this house has such potential -- its the owners who unfortunatly let it down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isobel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpine1951, Owner at Kilmalid House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
this is a false review as we did not have a family from glasgow stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
0.1 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
8.9 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmalid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmalid House

Property: Kilmalid House
Address: 17 Glenpath, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2QL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dumbarton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kilmalid House Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing