We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple No Frills Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple No Frills Hotel Stay”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms: I was in room 211 and felt that although it was spotless, there was a strange odour that only shifted after we opened the window.

Location: My wife and I were attending a wedding at the nearby Cameron House, it suited us to stay there. As always a Brewer's Fayre is in close proximity & there's a Costa Coffee at the other end of the car park. It's about a 10 minute drive from Loch Lomond.

Food: All served in the Brewer's Fayre. £8.25 for an AYCE breakfast.

The reception staff were very pleasant, no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    204
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
182
237
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very friendly, clean & comfortable. Everybody was really helpful, the room was very clean, quiet & presentable. It was in a very convenient location with plenty of parking very close to the hotel. The restaurant had an excellent menu selection and served meals all day long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REMRODS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a new hotel so may not be in your sat nav, and even putting the post code into Google shows the wrong place, so here is how to find it.

The hotel is only about 100 yards from the A82 and is easily visible, as is the Costa Coffe in the same block. Leave the A83 at the A813 roundabout, A813 starts here so only 1 way to go. Almost immediately there is another roundabout, turn right and you are into the complex! Sounds so easy, but I am sure lots of people miss it.

Please note that the heating can be centrally controlled, so if it doesn't respond get reception to switch it to manual.

Buffet breakfast isn't my favourite, personally I like the ones freshly cooked. Note that the restuarant is a short walk outside, no connecting corridor,

Room Tip: We were on the side of the main road and did not notice any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We used this hotel for an overnight stay before heading up into the Highlands. It is about fifteen-twenty minutes from Glasgow Airport and about five minutes from Dumbarton town centre.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with a king size main bed, sofa bed, desk & chair. Their is also a small clothes rail with coathangers and a body-length mirror with lights. So, the usual format for a Premier Inn.
There is a pub next door. We didn't eat there this time, just had a drink. Staff were pleasant in both the pub and hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back - it is quieter and away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from Scotland. It was a bit tricky to find the driveway that leads to the hotel since it was evening. This Premier Inn Hotel was very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and useful. My only complaint is the lack of better food options, but I guess that's expected in that location. The restaurant next door served pub food until 10pm. There's also a Costa across the car park. I definitely recommend this hotel for a quick stop if you're on the way to or from somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ves2Trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this Inn on our way upto the Hebrides. As with other Premier inns we have visited we were greeted by attentive staff who embedded customer service.

The Inn is in a great location within a 10 min drive to Loch Lomond. The rooms are clean spacious and have everything you need.

We had breakfast the following day and although very busy food was of a good standard.

I must suggest that if you wish to try a restaurant close by try The Duck Bay Marina which is within 10 mins drive by Cameron House, fantastic views and great food.

We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great base for exploring Loch Lomond and surrounding area in Dunbarton Scotland.

The hotel was not located in the most scenic location considering the surrounding area but had great facilities, great pillows and a really comfy bed!

Having the restaurant and pub next door makes such good business sense particularly after a long day where you can forgetvthe car and have a few well deserved beers. The evening specials are good value and the breakfasts are great to set you up for the next busy day ahead.

Well done Premier Inn - you do this business really well and i am sure have many satisfied and happy customers.........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
1.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
6.2 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
10.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Address: Lomondgate Drive, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gateway to the Lowlands within easy reach of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing