We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rotten”
Review of McMonagles

McMonagles
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Clydebank
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“rotten”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all we we're on a groupon voucher, so first impressions count. The restaurant itself was very busy, but as we had booked ahead in advance, we we're shown to our table immediately.

We both we're restricted to the haddock fillet, I chose mushy peas, my wife, garden peas. We we're offered bread and butter, but it never came.

The fish, if there was fish in what was mostly overcooked batter, was very greasy, the chips we're cold, my mushy peas had a huge black hair in it, when we pointed this out to the waitress, she said she would replace it, eh no thanks, finding a hair in it in the first place was more than enough to put me off eating another portion, what would you find in that one eh? A fish eye or a turd???

The soft drink tasted like the postmix hadnt been changed in a while.

Overall, we were not impressed, will not be going back or recommending to others.

incidently the price of the mushy peas was still on the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    126
    41
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The nearest I've had yet!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We were in Wales and had the nicest fish n chips ever! Since then I have tried everywhere and none have came close UNTILL now!!!
We went in after realising they have a gluten free option for my aunt!! Which is really had to find restraunts or takeaways that have that option! Ushally the gluten free food is horrid! But can honestly say I tasted hers and both were really good!
Will defo be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clydebank-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank
2 reviews
“Great Takeaway”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stay in Clydebank and always go here for our fish and chips, best in the area, alway prepared fresh to order, even for takeaway, great service and staff. Restuarant upstairs very good too, can recommend the breakfasts and the home made steak pie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely carryout”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Have been here many times; always been a grt experuence. Fish n chips all time fav for myself n family

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No trip home is ever complete without a family meal at the Boat!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Uk's best Fish & Chips! And a pretty mean haggis and steak pie too! Every time we visit my family in Clydebank we always enjoy a meal at the boat. Great food, friendly service and all for great value!

If your visiting Clydebank it's a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMonagles also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to McMonagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing