We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A must if on the Isle of Skye

If your on the Isle of Skye you can't miss the Fairy Pools! There is a local organization which is... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ranger145
,
Mancos, Colorado
Lovely Hike

On a beautiful day, truly not to be missed. In the rain, it could be a little sporty. Likely... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Colnagokid
via mobile
Read all 2,188 reviews
  
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveler rating
1,096
413
172
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
413
172
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stepping stones car park nice walk clear water sunny day glen brittle easy walk walking boots magical place single track road stunning scenery worth the effort passing places parking area short walk well worth the visit visiting skye
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

If your on the Isle of Skye you can't miss the Fairy Pools! There is a local organization which is charging money for parking so they can make improvement such as bathrooms so its a good cause. The walk to the first of the pools takes about 20 minutes and from there on up there are continuing pools. The pools are clear deep and magical with steep dark mountains behind them.

Thank Ranger145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

On a beautiful day, truly not to be missed. In the rain, it could be a little sporty. Likely delightful on a hot summers day, on a sunny afternoon in late October it gave us the opportunity to stretch our legs and enjoy the Scottish countryside. It’s a little off the beaten path and you’ll need a car, and On the weekend there will be someone collecting 5 pounds to park.

Thank Colnagokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to pay £5 to park in either car park , told it would take 45 minute walk but there were bad & dangerous crossing to get over . You need good walking boots on , steep rocky hillside to get down . Rocky paths to go along & stones to hop over the burns slippery when wet . We did a hour & half walk but couldnt find the pretty picture seen , found some pools of lighter colour sort of pools hhard to get down & dangerous. Turned around & walked back spoke to others on the path & they had walk to under the mountains & hadnt found the pretty picture shown in magazines or post cards. These are coloured in picture's & cards not really colours . You must be fit to do thisb

Thank Eggman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited in September after some rain and the stream was running high with the stepping stones almost covered. Some people made it across but many others (ourselves included) decided against crossing. My friend was concerned about her stability and, while I had proper hiking boots, I didn’t fancy a day with soaked shoes.

I could see the long gully with its series of waterfalls and pools and it did look attractive (sigh) but I can’t comment on the actual pools. We were able to explore the stream and some waterfalls just downhill of the parking. We could also enjoy the view of the Black Cuillans which had an awesome presence. It was muddy and slippery in places.

Parking can be a little difficult. We were staying close by and when we visited mid-morning the car park was full and we were forced to park on the road. It was quite busy with lots of people around. Currently there are no toilet facilities here. I would treat this walk as a mini-hike and be prepared with appropriate footwear, clothing, etc. I do intend to go back and do it but would go earlier or in the evening.

Thank SusanC4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great spot to visit on Skye. Beautiful scenery. Dress for rain from pop up showers. Parking can be tricky, the lot gets full quick but you can park along side of the road but be careful b/c its a single track road. You need to have good mobility b/c its a hike and there are slick rocks. Appropriate footwear is a must (Hiking boots/shoes)

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think there are nicer prettier spot if you ask around and do the drives.
They are building a cafe and newnparking so should help crowding

Thank drillerkc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent the day hiking in the area of the fairy pools. We got to the first area where the waterfalls were raging so we could not cross without our regular gear.
We did spent enough time near the streams and first falls to enjoy the exercise and the weather. We will be back to visit more and to make it to our final destination!

Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some people go for a swim here but in June, it was too cold to get in the water. Scenery was pretty but it's not as spectacular as other scenery on this island. Water wasn't pretty turquoise color or anything special. A lot of photos are taken here and they must have been photoshopped or something because water was just normal color. But, it is easier hike for children or older folks. Not as strenuous. Very busy here. Small parking area.

Thank angelap442018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It had been raining a fair bit in the days proceeding our visit. So the river was HIGH and to get across you had to wade through the flowing water. It was a bit nerve-wracking, but actually added to the whole experience! Our group got over, but unfortunately we saw many others have to turn back. so maybe check the weather before going if you're not prepared to go wading!

Further along the track there is another branch of the river and the only way to get across is by using the stepping stones. The gap was about 3 metres wide and if you fell you'd be VERY wet! Just something to bear in mind!

When you get there it is magical though and well worth the journey! Go early to avoid there being loads of other people there. A must see if you're fit for the adventure!

2  Thank cm2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A .car park has been established to try to alleviate the tourist congestion here at a £5 cost per car which is well worth it to save the single track road around the attraction. Even on a wet October day there were a large number of visitors. Luckily the car park attendant recommended to me to change out of my walking boots into my wellies which was a great tip as the river was in full spate making it very difficult to cross the river up to the pools and many people turned back while others took off their footwear and paddled across. It was very muddy around some of the waterfalls. I look forward to returning on a dry clear summer day to see the pools in all their glory ... if I can face the tourist masses.

Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews