We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, restful with all the comforts of home in...”
Boathouse at lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner
Bathroom
Bathtub with sunset view
Open plan staircase
Boathouse from the south
Living room feature wall with stove
Living room HD TV and stove
Bedroom
Open plan living room
Wheel bench
Summer sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Caro11
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet, restful with all the comforts of home in picturesque setting”
Reviewed January 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

We rented the boathouse for 3 days in the middle of 1.5 week tour around Scotland. After several B&Bs we needed a place to ourselves, from the pictures online the Boathouse looked liked an ideal spot and lived up to expectations, definitely worth the price. Carol has done a great job on renovating the old Boathouse into the beautiful place to stay. Carol was out of town when we checked in but made everything so easy for us. The Kingsburgh Boathouse is easy to get to off the main road, but once you're there you really do feel like you're mile away. The fresh eggs in the fridge were a great touch, we'd never had eggs so fresh before. The living area downstairs is comfy and separate enough from the upstairs bedroom that you don't have to worry about walking up your partner. The bedroom on the second floor is quite large and the bathroom really is something. The windows and tub make it a very romantic spot and let you take in beautiful views while soaking away a day of hiking. If you're looking to just relax and chill out on Skye, the Kingsburgh Boathouse is a great choice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Ge...
Metzingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indescribable”
Reviewed January 4, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

This place is just magic. It is the perfect symbiose between luxury and nature. Btw it is also a great place for engagements, honeymoons etc.! A dream on the Isle of Skye in Kingsburgh...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed December 7, 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewed December 3, 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location, luxury and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent
Reviewed October 25, 2010 for a stay in August 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
meggiemck...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A perfect location for peace and tranquility”
Reviewed October 18, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

The boathouse is in a position second to none. It has been beautifully renovated to an extremely high level. We enjoyed every aspect of it . It was a delight coming home after our many tours around the beautiful Isle of Skye and it was equally wonderful just being there on our last day. We do hope to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2010
Very many thanks Margaret, for your kind review. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes, Carol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev_Andy...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This is a very special place”
Reviewed October 11, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

The photographs do not do this place justice. Kingsburgh Boathouse is the best self-catering accommodation we have stayed in. Carol has lavished care and attention to detail throughout, and every room is decorated to a very high standard . There is a loch view from three sides of the property and you can't fail to just sit and watch the wildlife right outside the windows.

I've been back home for nearly two weeks and still think about the Boathouse every day. We will certainly return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing