We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb holiday home on the island of tranquility”
Boathouse at lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner
Bathroom
Bathtub with sunset view
Open plan staircase
Boathouse from the south
Living room feature wall with stove
Living room HD TV and stove
Bedroom
Open plan living room
Wheel bench
Summer sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sybille W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb holiday home on the island of tranquility”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We found what we had been looking for. The boathouse is very comfortable, clean, tidy and lavishly furnished. We felt very much at home in our short-term residence. The house is located right by the water and you have a wonderful view of Loch Snizort. All the details in the house have been selected with love and great taste and Kingsburgh Boathouse left nothing to be desired.
Also, were provided with plenty of information regarding walks and restaurants.
If we come back to Skye, this is where we would love to stay.
Thank you for a great week!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Hi Sybille and Frank - I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is so reassuring that discerning guests are comfortable and their expectations are met. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes, Carol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnowshoeS...
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth visit to Skye & we wouldn't stay anyplace else. Kingsburgh Boathouse, a perfect central location on the island, is nothing short of superb and that begins with Carol, the owner. We do a lot of travel and self catering and she is The Best - from helpful suggestions on the best hikes to well regarded restaurants in the area (if you can pull yourself from the boathouse of an evening.) to all things Scotland. She has done such a magnificent renovation of the old stone boathouse - from the gorgeous and comfortable upstairs sitting area/super king bed and wonderful & spacious master bath (all with stunning views) to the well appointed kitchen and family & dining area & mud room & half bath downstairs. The huge floor to ceiling picture windows down stairs provided gorgeous views of the loch and the Cuillins in the distance. There just isn't a bad view, upstairs or down! We loved being able to return from hiking and have wine & snacks by the water & be entertained by the ever amsuing sheep. Some great laughs there. We have a hectic schedule at home and were after peace & quiet in a really special environment. You just can't go wrong at Kingsburgh Boathouse. We had such a happy stay! Thanks, Carol!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davefearo...
Lewisham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The boathouse is large and comfortable and the views are stunning. Swam off the rocks when the tide was in and the view of the sunsets was breathtaking. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest6886...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could give six stars...”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it is idyllic (and this takes into account looking at the holiday through rose tinted, honeymoon eyes)! The location is superb - within easy access of Portree and Uig but feeling very remote. The views are stunning both in good weather and bad. When it was sunny, we could sit out by the loch and when wet and cold, there was the wood burning stove! It has everything you need for a couples getaway! I would thoroughly recommend staying here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous location and facilities”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed in this great architect renovated boathouse with every luxury and view you could wish for. Fabulous remote location and welcome pack. Only slight downside was VERY cold and windy during first three days of our stay making sleep in the roof bedroom difficult due to rattling tiles. Part of risk you take going to Skye in winter! Nothing that could be done about it. If no strong winds forecast we would highly recommend for a couple. The views and stars and walking are fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggy S
UK
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“This is a very special place”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The location of the boathouse is breathtaking and from some of the windows you feel you are on the water. The house itself is 5 star with fixtures and fittings of a very high standard. The flooring is slate and the underfloor heating makes it extra special. The lounge is spacious and the bedroom upstairs huge as is the bathroom. I wish we had been able to stay for longer as it was so amazing. The scenery and the wildlife is so outstanding that all you want to do is gaze out of the windows. We did attempt to sit out but January in Scotland is not going to allow that for very long. I can imagine that the long summers in Skye would be just so wonderful. We saw eagles, otters (4 of them) frolicking in the sea loch right outside the door. The cottage itself has everything you could wish for and Carol is only a stone's throw away if you need anything. I would love to come back in the springtime or summer when I could sit out and enjoy the long summer nights in this very special part of the world. Memorable!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
It's great to have a lovely positive review to start the new year; a special thanks to guests who make the journey north in wintry conditions. Happy 2017 everyone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHPTGP
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - beautiful location, private and restful”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Boathouse for 1 week in August and our only regret was that we wished we had stayed for two. Carol provided a warm welcome with wine and goodies to get through the first night. The house exceeded our expectations in every way - comfortable sitting area with fireplace, well appointed upstairs with a bedroom and modern bathroom, and a full kitchen that we fully used (make sure you buy fresh seafood from Just Hooked on Portree Harbour). The weather was amazing and we sat out every evening with a drink and enjoyed the sunset views over the loch. It was a great location as a base to explore Skye. We also developed a bit of an attachment to the sheep that seemed to visit us on a daily basis! Our stay at the Boathouse made our trip to Skye special and we look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
+++++++++++
I thought I'd also say that TripAdvisor says I reply to only 5% of enquiries - which is rubbish! I reply to all enquiries - usually within a few hours. But I refuse to use the TA template - preferring to personalise my responses. So, guests deal with a person, but I don't get my report card checked! Well, I can't beat the system, so just have to live with the perception of customer neglect.
+++++++++++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing